In transition


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
January 31st 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Howzit?
That is how Durbanites greet each other here, it took me ages to figure out what they were saying. People talk ridiculously fast, and most of the time I find myself nodding and never understanding!
Transition not only describes my current condition in South Africa, but it seems to be the name of the game for the country and people of South Africa as a whole.
I arrived on Friday at 2pm to a few Rotarians who quickly whisked me off to new homes and new adventures. Driving down the main highway from the airport to Durban North there were shacks and squatter camps lining the road. My driver and general caretaker, Alethea, is an architect and was quick to point out that South Africa's poverty solution, government housing in long rows on the hillside, is extremely antisocial and therefore entirely at odds with african tradition, thus making it a last resort of poor Africans.
I am currently at home in Durban North, a small suburb as, you guessed it, North of the city. It is a historically white suburb, though post Apartheid laws have opened it up to all races. I'm sure there is diversity in the suburb somewhere, but I have yet to see it, and spent most of my weekend surrounded by white, affluent, South Africans. The houses here are gorgeous, open and spacious, everyone eats on their verandas and each house has a small pool, perhaps the size of our jacuzzi, for relief from the heat and humidity. One of the major differences here is security. It is completely expected that at some point I will be robbed. South Africans consider it initiation into the country. You never wear jewlery on the street, never carry a wallet or cell phone in sight, never leave a package in a car. It makes me very nervous sometimes, but it has to be accepted as a fact of life, and things must go on I guess. I think I will begin to discern safer areas from others, and people here look out for me. Many of the neigborhoods have hired guards that roam the streets, and tall walls and barbed wire surrounding their properties. It sounds very militant and war-like, but it is just normal life here. Honestly, I think it is hyped up a bit to make you extra wary, and most of it is just common sense.
Many of you asked about the weather-it is very hot here, and humd, I drink my weight in water everyday. It rains in the evenings and has been cloudy once or twice. I'm told that February will be the worst of it, and then it will begin to cool down.
The woman I am living iwth now, Brenda, has been affectionately called by another scholar, the militant Afrikaans woman. She is one of those older grumpy women who you are convinced must positively hate you, but is in fact completely maternal and in love with you. It took some getting used to, and I was a bit put off at first, but she has been so gracious as to take me in and show me around, and for that I know she is very kind.
I arrived at the university yesterday and have started getting ready for classes. I met a wonderful girl named Danielle from Berkeley who is 28 and living in the residence hall. Thank god I missed out on that. They are horrible and dark and dingy. Yuck! I am currently looking for my own place to live, and will be looking at a flat this afternoon. A norwegian girl lives there ( erik-you would love that). I am really looking forward to finding my own place, just to begin the process of settling in.
I start orientation for school tommorrow, I have been told it will be quite difficult, as the school follows the british system for writing, sourcing, etc ,and I have no idea what that possibly includes. I guess I'll be spelling honor, honour or something of that sort!
Interesting thing-they drive on the left side of the road here, and so the cars are opposite-I have tried about 45 times now to drive someones car becuase I keep trying to get in on the wrong side. ITs rather amusing really.
Things are going very well here all in all, starting school has been a blessing in helping me to adjust, along with meetng up with some acquaintences from the state, like leanne and brad. We have done several lunchs and brii's, which are barbeques. I still miss home and friends dearly, and I would love to hear about all of your lives.
Alright, I must shut up now!
Go well,

Lauren


Advertisement



31st January 2006

Lauren! This is so exciting, it's like seeing SA for the first time again through your eyes. Take care babe!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb