Birthday Celebrations!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
May 11th 2007
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another birthday come and gone and I still don't feel any different. Although I am probably approaching that dreaded quarter-life crisis, I don't quite feel it yet. (j/k). Actually, the only birthday i can remember feeling significantly different on was when i turned 20. The thought of never being able to be a teenager again seemed disconcerting at the time ( though most would probably consider that a joy!)

I had another wonderful birthday in Durban, surrounded with good friends. My friend Kathleen, whom I share a birthday with, was down from Nairobi so we put together a birthday feast plan. We booked a room (yes, i know how glamorous!) at a Morrocan restaurant called Fabulous. I had been there once before and the food is wonderful and the vibe awesome. It is an entirely middle eastern theme, including belly dancers who perform throughout the night.

Kathleen and I were blessed enough to have 11 good friends join us, and we had a wonderful time. ( minus the fact that the table faced a wall, and so was only open on one side meaning if you were near the wall and needed a potty break you had to climb over ten people-someone did not plan well) The food was wonderful, and I even made a vegan cake, which if i might say so myself, was spectacular. A spicy apple bundt cake with cinnamon glaze. Yummy! Everyone couldn't believe it was vegan, so i was proud.

This birthday gave me two semi-grand realisations. Firstly, seeing the wonderful people around me at dinner, all who i knew in some special way, made me realize that I have really created a life for myself here. I am certainly lacking in family, and miss them so much, but over the last 18 months I have created a new life for myself, a life I truly enjoy and will be very sad to miss. I realized that I have reached the point where mytime here is no longer a "trip" or "adventure" but an investment I have made in my heart and head. It will be bittersweet to leave Durban-I am thrilled to get to see family and old friends so very soon, but it will be incredibly difficult to leave.

The second grand realisation ( or horror!) is that I have officially entered the "adulthood" phase of my life. I
Baby LivBaby LivBaby Liv

and a beer bottle. Get it. Ha.
was the youngest person at my birthday dinner, sans Mike who bless his heart is 23. Six of the people there were married, and one of the couples has a child, Liv, who you can see in the adorable pictures. I don't know at what point i crossed over into the world of marriedness and children, and I think i'm still going half kicking and screaming, but it doesn't seem that different so far, and I still feel quite young and free, so I guess its okay by me. Hey, I rhymed.

Alright thats all. Thank you everyone who remembered me even after so long away and sent wonderful birthday wishes. It was very much appreciated and made me wish for home. I've attached some pictures from the b-day dinner. I am terrible at getting people to pose, so they're mostly "in action". Whatever that may mean.

Love,
Lauren


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



11th May 2007

Happy Belated Birthday!!!
Hey lady!! I'm such an awful friend. I'm glad to hear that you had a fantastic birthday.... Happy Belated Birthday!! I send my well wishes from Tejas. :) I totally identify with your realizations. Keep me posted on your return to the States and what they may hold. Can't wait to see you again. XOXO!!!! Erin :)

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb