I've Had Better Days


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
February 23rd 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Home on the TranskyHome on the TranskyHome on the Transky

Farms are scattered through the hills in the state once known as Transky
Today we ride from Mthatha to Umhlanga (North suburb of Durban) through back roads and following the coast.

I rode with John and Dave this morning until we caught up with the rest of the group (Peter, Bob, Phebe, Patrick, Otto, Ellen, Murray, Peri and Ian) at Port St. Johns. The town was more rural than I expected. People stood in the streets and gawked at the strange gang of motorcyclist cruising down Main Street. I was at the back of the pack so by the time I cruised by the locals they were out lining the streets. Main Street dead ended, so I had to loop back out of town on a secondary street. The crowd rushed to the next street to keep watching. Being the focus of attention made me so nervous that I was afraid of dumping the bike or hitting someone’s dog. After a brief parade through town we continue on to Port Edwards.

It’s lush and beautiful here. I’m surrounded by rolling hills, twisty roads and friendly locals. Farm land is community owned so every couple of miles a dwelling would appear which seemed to dot most of the landscape.

Between Lusikisiki and
Parked in some farmer's fieldParked in some farmer's fieldParked in some farmer's field

The authorities have herded us onto a farmer's field while we wait for Frank to show up with the trailer for Otto's bike
Flagstaff, Otto failed to complete a right sweeper and lowsided his bike. As luck would have it, help was only a few minutes away. Fortunately Murray, Peri , Ian, Peter T, Terry, John, Bon Bon and I were following Otto and were on hand to help. Murray and Peter followed Otto ambulance to the hospital in Lusikisiki. Frank and Phebe showed up with the trailer and the rest of us help load the bike. Peter and I looked like scavengers rummaging through Otto’s stuff looking for passport, private insurance papers… (I’ve now consolidated all my important papers and carry them at all times after Otto’s inccident)

Apparently, government funded rural hospitals are to be avoided (no running water!) Frank and Phebe managed to get Otto’s private insurance straighten out to have Otto transferred to a hospital capable of treating his injuries. Otto is ok but is spending tonight in a Durban hospital.

The rest of the group ride to Umhlanga two hours behind. Terry and John are separated from the group as we circled Port Shepstone looking for a place to eat. Later Dave and I peel off from the group frustrated with the 115km/hour pace. We arrive in Umhlanga earlier but end up circling around looking for the hotel (situated in a mall?!)

Everyone gathered in the bar for a couple of drinks and reflect on the days events. A friend suggested I sample the curries while in Durban so Peter and I wander across the street and found an Indian restaurant which served us excellent curry dishes.

I’m glad we have a break from riding tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb