A Temporary Bon Voyage ( otherwise known as, I'm coming home!)


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
December 13th 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I haven't written on this in ages, so I guess its deserving of an update.
I don't even know where I last left off.
Erik came to visit me in October which was the most SPECTACULAR of spectaculars. We chased wild animals through the bush, chilled with overly enthusiastic backpackers, ran through preserved wetlands, went bat-hunting, and had a generally phenomenal time. Best of all we went to a Sangoma ( traditional healer) ceremony, which was super cool, and I think Erik has found his true calling in life.😊

Since then I've been trying ot chill a bit after a quite busy three months. I finished up coursework in November, so thats all done. Just the thesis left now. I'm going ot be taking a look at women who have received redistributed land through SA's Land redistribution for Agriculture Development program and the livelihood strategies they are using. Little to no research has been done 10 years in to see if redistribution is actually making a difference in people's lives, so thats where I jump on the boat. I've been doing alot of research and hope to have my proposal in in January.

I've also started working part
CrocCrocCroc

Erik and I saw him on our river boat. This is immediately before Erik jumped out and preceded to wrestle it.
time-( well more like full-time lately) at a place called Development Research Africa. I'm a research assistant, so I help analyze all the data they get in and find the significant findings and write up reports. Not the most glamourous sounding job, but I actually get to work on some pretty intense, government funded reports, so thats cool. Plus, its keeping me from begging for bread on the streets.

The low-point of the last month has to be the process of trying to get my visa extended till next july, which was like trying to wint he lottery. I think I stood in line for like 18 hours total for this thing. the department of home affairs is a debacle reserved for me apparently. Put that on my list of never to do's again.

The high point is that we have acquired our 3rd blessed vehicle Midge, a 323 Mazda, who've we've been told NO ONE wants to steal ( our #1 criteria) which probably means she'll be gone in about 3 weeks, keep your fingers crossed. She's stick, which means I don't get around to far in her as of yet, considering Durban is the hilliest town in the world, and I live at the bottom of a hill, so actually more than 5 feet away from my house is, as of yet, a monumental challenge.

Mostly though, ive just been getting super pumped about coming back to the states for a month! A whole month! Swweeet. For those of you I haven't already hunted down, I get home on Dec 20th, and will be around until January 28th. I'm hitting up Denver for NYE, and will be in and out of Chicago and DC to visit wonderful friends as well. I hope to get to see all of you and hear about what has been going on in your lives for the past year. What a trip, it doesn't seem like its been that long already.
I would also appreciate if everyone I see could kindly donate one blanket to the "keep lauren warm" foundation as I am going to get totally kicked by the snow and cold.
Please let me know if you will be around during the holidays so we can make plans to meet up!!!!!! I am so much looking forward to it! Also, please send me your addresses so I can send you all a bit of African christmas cheer.
Have wonderful wonderful holidays and a great new years and see you on the front side of 2007.!
Lauren
PS-Enjoy the picks of Erik's visit, and the great American-Durban Thanksgiving spectacular!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The view out my bathroom windowThe view out my bathroom window
The view out my bathroom window

Okay, not really. Cape Vidal.
Erik's new best friend.Erik's new best friend.
Erik's new best friend.

I've been replaced.
ZululandZululand
Zululand

This long reed pole actually has a white flag on top and it signifies that a young woman in the house has just been proposed to. Pretty cool.
ZululandZululand
Zululand

Cute kid.
Turkey DayTurkey Day
Turkey Day

The proud mashed-potatoers themselves
Turkey DayTurkey Day
Turkey Day

Setting up the feast
Turkey DayTurkey Day
Turkey Day

Yes, that is in fact TWO TURKEYS. We spared no expense
Turkey DayTurkey Day
Turkey Day

Our lovely guests
Turkey DayTurkey Day
Turkey Day

More guests with filled bellies. A job well done.


13th December 2006

a proud teacher
wow, what a wonderful adventure But nothing you do would surprise. Mr. B
14th December 2006

iii'll be hoooome for chriiiistmas!
Hey hey! Can't wait to see you and to catch up in person. Looks like you've been up to more fun. Your research project sounds very interesting. Also... we need to talk about Christmas weekend plans! I'm getting in around 1am on Friday night. Let's definitely catch up on Sat, Dec 23rd! Doug Barnbrook has his annual Christmas party that night... but was thinking a group of us could do our own thing and then stop by and then ??. Thoughts? Call me when you get to the States!! Can't wait to see you!!!!! - Erin

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb