Killing time in O R Tambo Airport


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
April 4th 2009
Published: December 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Victoria Falls Airport was a small airport – it was the first time any duty free store actively tried to bargain with me. We caught a South African Airlines flight, which seated only 38 people, to transit through Johannesburg’s OR Tambo airport. I had 8 hours to kill before catching my next flight so I caught up on some e-mails, sent some postcards and tested out the airport food – which is the worst KFC I have eaten.

How amazing is it that we travel to the other side of the world, dine on bugs, antelope and crocodile and then find a way to criticise the one food they like the best. I always like to try out the local fast foods. I tend to enjoy McDonalds everywhere in the world but the KFC tastes better at home.

Dagobert D. Runes said, “People travel to faraway places to watch, in fascination, the kind of people they ignore at home.” And it was as I sat in different parts of the airport that I really began appreciate this. I would usually be pulling my hair out with nothing to do in seven hours and here I was people watching in absolute amazement. The travel bug had finally hit me and I couldn’t wait to go to Egypt and explore even more.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb