Drive to Hazyview


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
July 8th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Drive to Hazyview


We began our drive to Hazyview (which is where our resort is) around 8:15am, and Janel proceeded to put on the right path right away. To get there, we would have to drive to Nelspruit first (400+ km away), which was one of the host cities in this World Cup. The drive was smooth, but not as exciting as the drive along the coast from Durban to Cape Town. As we drove into Nelspruit, we saw the new stadium right away.

I forgot to say that on the way to Nelspruit, I was stopped by a cop for changing lanes when the dividing line was solid. Just as I was about to do so, I hesitated because I could have easily waited another 6 seconds or so to pass the slow-moving truck that was ahead of me. In any case, the friendly cop told me that he was watching me the whole way. I told him how I hesitated to do the move and everything, but he told him me the fine was 500 Rand ($70 or so). I asked him if he could let me go, and he said he could, so we then chatted about South Africa, where we've been, and the about the World Cup. I then pulled out a World Cup program I bought the day before and showed it to him. I asked him if he had seen one, and he said no, so I told him he could have it because he had been kind to us. So my "fine" was reduced to roughly $10, and I can easily get another program at the Final.

The resort we stayed had been recommended by my soccer buddy Colin, who stayed there a few weeks ago. It is a nice place, has a golf course, swimming pool, lawn bowling, tennis courts, etc... Once we got settled, we booked a safari for the next morning. The safari would require us to get up at 4:30am in order to be read to be picked up at 5:30am, which was going to be a little rough but we were really looking forward to the day. We also went to a grocery store to buy some food to take on the safari.

As the sun was setting, we went for a walk to see what the resort had to offer and had dinner at the main restaurant. Since we were both feeling a little tired, we called it a night early.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb