J-burg #2 and US vs. Slovenia


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
June 23rd 2010
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

US vs SloveniaUS vs SloveniaUS vs Slovenia

Game 2 of 3 - we got ripped off with a botched call. Just the first of many against the US.
Sorry for the short delay in posts, my BB was unable to send or receive emails for a few days.

Well, we are nearly three weeks into the trip which is crazy. As with every trip, there are moments when you do start to get exhausted and miss your normal life in some way. This has already ranked up there as one of the best trips ever. Africa is more unique and far different than I couldve even imagined. You have seen and heard from me all of the little things that have been interesting and unique, and they continue to grow by the day. But on the same token, I am starting to feel the end of the trip and in some strange ways... I am ready for my own space, not living out of a bag, a routine, tap water, light switches inside of rooms, normal plugs, and many of the other simple things that I love about my life. On the same token, I am also only a few days from being back to work and school - so what the heck am I saying... I'm not ready to be back (with the exception of seeing Samantha). Until then, I hope you enjoy the last week of blogs, because at this time next week, the blogs will be done and I will be back to my life in the States (which could be worse).

Also, I know its a bit late (only halfway) in the tournament, but hopefully you are all getting more and more into it. Here are a few terms that I have mentioned or you should know to understand the 2010 World Cup.

Vuvuzela - stadium horn / trumpet that is blown by the fans at soccer matches. I know you all hate them, but as annoying as they sound on TV, the are Africa to the max and make the atmosphere at matches unbelievable. And worse news for everyone, I have learn to play one and will be bringing one home.

Makarapa - miner's helmet that has been transformed into a colorful soccer fan's helmet

Zakumi - the official mascot of the World Cup (he is a green-haired leopard)

Laduma - "la-doo-mah" taken from Zulu (to thunder) is the expression loudy used when a goal is scored

Boerewors - the spicy sausage that is used in South African "braai" or BBQ

Sanbonani - "welcome to you all" in Swazi language

Baie dankie - "thank you very much" in Afrikaans (which we have heard a lot all over the country.

Siyabonga - "thank you" in Zulu

That... Is your cultural lesson for the month. You're welcome.

Friday was game day #2 for the US in a key match-up against first in our group Slovenia (which is a beautiful country by the way).

We started the day by meeting Jamie and Sharon (our UK friends from Rustenburg) for some coffee, shopping, and lunch in the trendy Jo-burg suburb of Sandton before they dropped us off at Ellis Park for game-day around 1.

We spent the first hour in the fan zone watching Serbia beat Germany which shocked most people (sorry Julius). Around 330, we headed in for the game. As with the first game, we looked horrible early, and by the half we were down 2-0. The atmosphere was maybe better than the UK vs US game. There were tons of locals, a lot of them kids, and tons of vuvuzellas which I know you all hate. There is one thing to note of all the kids and locals at the game. Never in my life have I been to a place where people respect and even like the US as much as the people here. I'm not saying it to be arrogant, but I travel enough to know what most people think or at least the general consensus. In SA, they go against every stereotype I thought I knew, and have been nothing but great. In fact, most of the locals were cheering LOUDLY for the US.

After going down early, we played quite an impressive second half and tied it at two. In the 86th minute, with the stadium literally rocking, we scored what seemed to be the game-winning goal that was called back for no apparent reason. We in the stadium, had no idea what happened (a foul vs offside call, etc). It wasn't until after the game, when we received numerous texts and emails and talked to locals (heck even fans of other teams) that the call was BS and there was no good reason it was called back. In the end, the tie puts us in a position (after watching the UK suck and tie Algeria) to win our last game and move to the next round. But, there is something I feel I must say...

I am not one to complain about officiating, but that was one of the worst officiated games I have ever seen in any sport. I have since learned that the ref has been suspended by FIFA and won't be reffing anymore games in the World Cup - which is good. And even I realize, being an official at this stage is a thankless job. But the job done in this game, from the missed calls, to the dives, to the wasting of time by Slovenia was infuriating to the fans (US and otherwise). Part of the problem is the US mentality that I love.

I have watched over 95% of all the games of this entire World Cup from start to finish. I am proud to be a US soccer fan for a few reasons (aside from the fact that I am from the US - take note Rustenberg American) - many of which I think mimic our nation as a whole. One, we never give up. A lot of teams are full of personalities and although they have ridiculous amounts of skill, can go down by one goal and give up without a fight. No matter the score, you will never see that from our side. Two, we play more physical than almost any other team in the tournament. We don't get out-played physically and we never get pushed around. And three, we don't take dives. Unlike MOST teams in the world, you will rarely if ever see a US player take a dive, or even more rare, act hurt. Sometimes its does seem to be our detriment, and if history is any indicator, we would probably be better off if we did. The only winners of any World Cup ever are from South America and Europe - the two worst divers. Even our coach exemplifies those qualities. He demands full effort, physical play, and will be the first to tell you to never go or stay down unless something is seriously wrong. These qualities are noticeable, and its these qualities, along with our Confederations Cup performance last year that has the world respecting us more and more (especially here in SA).

So the game as a whole, while being a GREAT soccer game, shouldve been a great win. But we didn't give up, we didn't dive, and we didn't complain (even in the face of that horrible call), and with that... We control our own futures. Win the last group stage game - and we are on to the round of 16.

After the game, we met a friend of mine from DC, Ed, who was born and lives in the States - but spent most of his life in SA (including high school and college). He works in Congress and flew over for the games. We went out after the game with Ed and like 10 of his local friends. They were excited to hear that we were enjoying their country and having a good time. We spent some time learning how to properly blow the vuvuzella. We also went to a local Shabeen. A shabeen was a place where non-whites went to get alcohol during Apartheid. I won't lie (after the fact), the place was in the basement of an abandoned building and looked like a laundry mat. But I trust Ed and his friends took care of us. And besides, who can resist a "40" of beer for the equivalent to $1 USD. I'm not stupid...

After an hour or two, we cabbed back to the hotel to watch the UK game before heading to bed for a super early flight to Cape Town. We did hear about a crazy UK fan that broke into the team's locker room after the game (with the princes in there) to screen at the team and tell them how they were embarrassing the nation. While we were sure it was our friend Tim from Rustenburg (who must be on suicide watch at this point), it wasn't - but it brings up an important point that I want to note and I know bothers the SA people.

International media coverage of the tourney so far has been somewhat negative from what I can tell. From security to stadium issues to the ball - they have been asking from day 1 if this is the worst tournaments ever. All I can say is that none of this could be further from the truth. The country's management of the event has been exceptional, and I hope in the end, helps them shake what I see to be a bad, but unwarranted reputation that is dated and frankly, not true at the current time.

Sigh... OK, I am done venting. Well, we are off to the Cape early tomorrow. I will attempt to update everyone then. Hope everyone is well...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb