Final days in South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
November 20th 2008
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SowetoSowetoSoweto

Stall selling the delicious Fatcakes
Again, having trouble uploading photos, so will try again later.

My final few days in SA - a quiet day in Jozi (as its affectionately known by the locals - I don't feel quite the same affection, although it really wasn't the frightening experience I'd been expecting) was followed by a busy day - an interesting trip to Soweto, including a visit to the Hector Peterson museum (the 13 year old boy famously photographed after he was shot in the 1976 student uprising), lunch at the house of a lady named Pollina - how some locals make money, running a kind of restaurant from home - mutton and rice. Some policemen were having lunch too and said that Soweto has changed alot in the last couple of years - the guidebooks and the outside world are behind. Certainly it has its shabby parts, but the government are slowly rehousing those still in shanty towns and there were some areas which reminded me of an English suburb. Desmond Tutu still lives here as does Winnie Mandela.
We also stopped earlier that day to buy the appropiately named "Fat Cakes" - deep fried dough. Very tasty, and almost certainly do what it
KrugerKrugerKruger

Lion taking his time.
says on the tin.
In the afternoon a visit to the Apartheid museum - a really brilliantly done place and it helped clarify alot for me - as well as leaving me somewhat dazed after 3 hours of taking it all in.
So then the next day was a 5 am start to head the 6 hours to Kruger National Park. My heart sank slightly when 15 Americans got on the bus - and no offence if you're reading this Jessie - these were Bush supporters from Virginia, fresh from a mission trip. Statements like "Holy Cow!" and "Gee, can we stop and take pictures?" replaced the peace and quiet....
It turned out we were staying in the same place, but once I saw my luxurious accommodation, it was all fine. I really thought I was in the wrong place at first - it was a while since I'd booked this trip, but I hadn't expected the ensuite bathroom with views of the bush, a lovely double bed with mosquito net and chocolates on the pillow...maybe I was a little more excited than usual after a month of backpacking.
Kruger is larger than Denmark - and we set off to
KrugerKrugerKruger

A giraffe eating - for a change.
explore some of this vast national park at 4.30 in the morning. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience - we saw a huge range of animals (just missed the leopard and cheetah), that said, a day was enough for me, I don't think I'll ever want the full on safari experience.
So then it was back to Jo'burg, and hanging about for the flight to Perth the next day. I absolutely loved my time in South Africa, the country was beautiful and the people very friendly (although I heard a few jaw-dropping comments about the recent and future history in my time there - there is still a long way to go to change the mindset of some).
And after a 9 hour flight and a time change I find myself in Perth, staying with friends before heading up the West Coast tomorrow. So far the main adjustment, after getting over jet lag, has been the prices. After South Africa it feels hugely expensive - I think once I'm back on the backpacker route it will get easier. Hopefully. Russell has been showing me around the place - we went for a swim in the ocean, and lunch in a lovely
SowetoSowetoSoweto

Fairly typical of the shanty towns all over South Africa. In Soweto the government is building new houses for people but there's still some way to go.
town on the coast near Perth called Freemantle (Annie - was this the place you mentioned?). I will probably come back and stay there before flying to the East Coast - Russell and Victoria are heading for a 6 week break to the UK shortly.
I'm in for some serious long-distance driving, but looking forward to getting to know a small part of this vast country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bundu lodgeBundu lodge
Bundu lodge

Sunset from my luxury chalet veranda in the bush.
AustraliaAustralia
Australia

Russell on Cotteloe Beach (my first Aussie beach experience)


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb