Off to South Africa....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
April 30th 2008
Published: May 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I don’t even know where to begin! Amazing! Amazing people, amazing animals, amazing cities, amazing history! Just amazing!

Meet Ben…

I met Ben on www.couchsurfing.com. A site where travelers host other travelers to help them in a new city. For Ben this is an understatement, he went way above and beyond! He gave me a very nice place to stay, made time for dinner on the night of my arrival, dropped me off and picked me up the next day at the Apartheid Museum, helped me shop for a camera then returned that camera for me, dropped me off at my next destination…and the list goes on. He made my stay fabulous! If you make it to JNB look Ben up, you won’t be disappointed. The Saturday of my arrival Ben threw a North Carolina style Pig Pickin’, I like to think he threw it in my honor but I’m guessing it was just a coincidence! It was an all day event with a fabulous group of people. I met so many wonderful people that have touched my life with their kindness. Thank you to everyone for welcoming me to South Africa.



Off to the Lion Park…
Just a couple of days after arriving in JNB I headed to the Lion Park to volunteer with the lions. What an amazing experience! The pictures speak for themselves…

The animals weren’t the only amazing things at the Park. Without the people my experience would not have been the same. I miss you all!!!

Meet...
Princess manages the Cub Nursery
Shadraq/George/Nadine/TK work at the park taking care of the animals and leading game drives
Kara/Charne managers and animal trainers
Alex the lion trainer
Shander, Alex’s son and volunteer
Swazi worked in the nursery
Onika cared for the guests in the guest camp
Lara is the I-to-I coordinator
Mahesh another volunteer from the UK

Off to Capetown…

So much to do, so little time. The highlight of this stop was the trip over to Robben Island Museum, the location where political prisoners were held during Apartheid. The tour was led by an ex-political prisoner, Sparks, an amazing human being. He resides today on the island with other ex-prisoners and ex-guards in harmony. A lesson to be learned by all.

Also, went shark cage diving and toured Cape of Good Hope.

Next stop Victoria Falls, Zambia...


Additional photos below
Photos: 242, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th May 2008

Fun
Bethany!! You look like you are having way too much fun! I am jealous!! I am also sooooooooooooooo happy for you to know that you are living your dream!!!
6th May 2008

Great Pics!
Wonderful pics of the Lion Park (especially!) and the shark diving and Cape of Good Hope. Looks like an amazing experience!
26th May 2008

Awesome!
Katie wants to volunteer at the Lion Park, she wants to know how old you have to be. I hope we can go to Africa someday. That is my dream-a safari.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb