the workaday world


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
February 4th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I started working on January 15, and the first week I spent really trying to learn what I was supposed to do and getting used to having a regular schedule again. Wow! Work is somewhat boring for me at this point, and I keep reminding myself that becoming familiar with how things are done in Africa will help with future endeavors. I am managing the construction of a couple of water treatment plants. One is a new project that hasn’t really started yet. The other is in the stage of procurement, where I make sure everything we need is ordered, inspected, and delivered on time to the site so we will have it; the actual work right now involves making lists of things and getting quotes for their purchase. There are many, many things - big fabricated pieces of metal right down to the gaskets and nuts and bolts. I enjoy the people, and I feel like I need to learn Afrikaans since it is spoken so much around me at work. I have stopped studying Xhosa for now, as both my tutor and myself are working and time is short. Difficult to make progress when not exposed to it as much and so many other things take up that time. We leave the house at 6:15 to avoid the really awful traffic, and then I get off at 4:30. I am supposed to be there at 8, and the first day I left the house at 7 to travel 4 km (about 2.5 miles), and it took 1.5 HOURS. I could walk it faster (but not safely, when the traffic is trying to make 5 lanes where there are lines for 4). When we leave at 6:15, it takes about 30 minutes. If I can get it together to leave at 6, it takes 10 minutes. I’d rather spend that time at work than in the car, since those are the choices. Jo’burg traffic is legendary. Anyway, Bob drops me off so he can have the car.

Bob and I have been working out almost every day for about 1-1/2 hours; I am getting stronger and having more stamina. Today we were both so tired we just had to take a break. I took a 3-hour nap. Still a long way to catch up with my Dad, who bikes or walks 6 miles a day. Hope I can do that at age 70!

The days here have starting to become shorter but the weather remains wonderful. We often spend the night sleeping without covers and the days in shorts and tee shirts. Bob has had to learn to put sunscreen on his right arm to protect it when he drives.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb