Time flies when you are having fun!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
November 4th 1994
Published: April 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Flew CPT to JNB on Comair flight MN702, a 737-200. I was in seat 12E. We had a few hours to kill at JNB airport until our flight home after 9pm. This flight would make a stop in Ilha do Sal. I remember seeing that and thinking Sal???
Are we stopping in San Salvador??? The actual code is SID and our flight would go JNB-SID-JFK. The stop was made due to the elevation of JNB airport. The flight was routine and soon we were all waking up to land in Sal. There was a quick crew change and a few people boarded. We all joked about getting pulled off here due to no space.
At sunrise on November 5, we were in JFK. We had cleared immigration quickly and they went off to LGA to get their Delta flights. I had other options that they did not have, so I took the America West nonstop to LAS and was home by noon.
They did not get back until later that evening. I flew HP 11, a 757-200, and was in seat 31F.

South Africa, and especially Cape Town has been one of my top destinations. I have been back three times but none compare to the first trip.

Thanks for reading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb