Party-shopping in Harrismith


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Drakensberg
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yea!! Got a night booked in Qwantani when the course finishes, a kind of goodbye party as well for me and James and Maria in a way as well, we're all leaving round about the same time, but this is prolly the last chance we'll have with most folk to enjoy it. Kina sucks you have to start saying goodbye like a month in advance!! I know for a fact there's already people that I won't see again, it sucks!!

So after last time, we hoyed it back to base and I read my paper :p apparently "Lynn" and "Ben" are the unhappiest British names to have!! Too funny :p we dropped of Maricelle's group's solo tarps, then went in to town to pick up James and Maria - awesome to have them up here!! We went to Shoprite and bought chocolate :p went back to base, and Sifiso had cooked us chicken feet and liver. It was RANK. But I'm glad I tried it for the experience!! No matter how hard I try, I'm never gunna like liver :p and the chicken feet were weird, you kina had to suck off the meat, and bite off and spit out the toenails. It was pretty rank when you realised you'd just bit through a tendon... spoke to mum and Ailsa, and went to bed.

On Mon (25th) woke up late and did safety checks (fun) on the rox/abs gear, and the awful 1st aid kits... really lost hope with them. Got a wee shot in the Buckie as well!! Made an awesome lunch with the 5 of us, and me and Iona and James went kayaking - they forgot my bag, and I had to run with it!! I've not lost my roll, but I definitely need a bit more pracice again, was wet-exiting more than I was successful!! For some reason couldn't be bothered putting everything in to it though, I reckon if I HAD to do it sometime, then I'd be fine. Used the kayak paddles in the canoe, you go so much faster and have so much more control!! Good fun. Went up to Qwantani for showers, and got a lift back from Arch. The leftover meat for dinner did not appeal to me, I had tuna and peanut butter :p spoke to G&G on the phone, was awesome to speak to them!! Chatted in the kitchen to Tasha about anything and everything, was kool.

On Tue, went for a morning run, but wasn't relaly in to it - think I need to take a break, been doing it too much, not enjoying it as much anymore. Met Tash on the way back and walked up to the gate to charge her iPod with her, came back, did safety checks on the vehicles, I had a go in the truck - its incredibly weird, hard to control!! We all went up to Qwantani (been spending a lot of time up there of late) cuz Sifiso needed to do something - me and James played a game of giant chess, I won!! Its a miracle, I'm usually so impatient with chess. Had some fantaaaaaa, chilled, jumped on the trampoline, booked the chalets for the 28th :D:D:D and went to the gym with Archie and Sifiso after picking up the canoes - we managed to break the trailer, oops :p the gym was hilarious, its bascially some old equipment in a "room" outside the maintainence guy's houses. I had to do the arm exercises they were doing, my arms were pretty sore, I don't wana build muscle!! They were all proud of me though, it was funny. They had music that reminded me of my childhood on, was weird, Texas and Simply Red :p I got to drive back from the gym, I much prefer the buckie to the truck!! Archie was so concerned about me reversing though, I got annoyed at him, I think he thinks woman can't reverse. I showed him though, YEA!! had potato salad and chicken for dinner, was nice. Chatted a bit, then went to bed - was FREEZING!!

And today, ran up to Qwantani (definitely going to take a break from running though, just not in to it right now) and had a shower, walked back - was really nice and sunny, just chilling with the iPod. HAd brekkie, cleaned the yellow bird-diarrhoea off my bag (that's the 3rd time they've pooped on it!!) and hoyed it in to town in the back of the Buckie. Bought some Biltong :D and came on here!! Next stop - the awesome coffee shop then party-buying rounds!! Soooo excited about tomorrow night. Hopefully will be able to update before the course!! Lovelove xxxxxxx



Advertisement



27th May 2009

Mad scottish person!
What does "hoyed" mean? How do you say it phonetically?

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb