Finally!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » North West » Potchefstroom
June 21st 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Been sooo long I know!! Pretty much doing back to back courses, been sooo awesome. I’m honestly having the time of my life out here, I really don’t want it to end, and I can’t believe that this is technically my last working day at Outward Bound, and I’m leaving OB in a few days!! Hectic… I’ve made so many awesome new friends here, who have become a big part of my life, a few of which will definitely remain so. South Africa, I feel is part of my home now  I’m glad I’m leaving on a high, it would suck to actually be bored of what I was doing. The lifestyle is so ridiculously different to mine back in Scotland, its going to be so strange when I eventually get home!!

I have like a month to catch up on, so I’m not going to go in to major detail (she says…) :p - basically, I was kitchen support in Harrismith for a 2-week course and got to explore the area a bit, then I was co-instructing the next 2-week course - Outendweni, street guys from Jo’burg - and that turned out to be the bext experience ever, really. Definitely one of the highlights of my time here - though I must say, it wouldn’t have been the same if I hand’t been co-instructing with Rose, Nolyn and Dali!! Then, we were supporting a 5-day course in Lapalala - such a kool area, didn’t quite top Harrismith though. The stars in Lapalala are so friggin awesome!! Though I injured my ankle on day 2 of the course, so couldn’t actually go out in the field and support, but kept busy doing other stuff. Now in Potch, cleaning gear, then leave starts tomorrow!!

So last time I wrote in here was Wed 27th May… after the internet café, we bought booze for our party night the next night, met Julie, a lady who works for OB (not sure exactly what she does) and I spoke to Caz on the phone, so awesome to speak to her before her bday!!

28th - last day of the course, we had to join in the final challenge, 5k hilly run from Ararat (big abs) back to base - I beasted all the girls, was awesome!! Chilled with James/Rose/Maria for a bit after making the groups lunch, and went up to Qwantani for the de-brief, went well, got free juice :D came back, packed our stuff and washed the gear, and we went up to Qwantani for the partay!! I’m not going to write down everything that happened - lets just say it was an awesome night, everyone was so happy (apart from Jeff who got upset and went back to base for some reason) got to know my friends even better, had some awesome chats and had A BATH!! :D

29th - slightly worse for wear, but we still made it down to breakfast and spent the day playing tennis, squash and chilling at Qwantani!! Taught Maricelle and Iona to play squash (Maricelle was bloomin good for a 1st timer!!) and had dinner there on Rose and Maricelle (they are such awesome chickies) gor a lift back to base, and chatted to Maricelle for ages before hitting the sack.

30th - woke up late-ish, lay on the bads all morning with Rose and Ted, Ted nicknamed me “Cottontail” and gave me a bunny tattoo :D he’s such a good artist!! Ended up at Qwantani again (surprise surprise) nearly ended up in a pool contest!! Watched the SA super 14 final - the team I was supposed to support (according to everyonebar Jeff) won, so we mwere all happy. Jeff won the pool competition and decided to buy us all drinks, which was awesome. Another really kool night, a lot of bonding takes place through rugby games!! Willie madea afire, and we ended up sitting for a long time chatting about stuff in general - he’s such a kool guy.

31st - prep day for Outwndweni!! Woke up early, took my iPod to the gate to get charged, and we saw the programme - saw I was with Rose Nolyn and Dali, and they were more than happy for me to co-instruct, so I was happy :D we went to Ararat to dig another toilet, spent most of the time chatting top the girlies cuz the guys weren’t keep on us using the pickaxe!! I showed them though :p briefly spoke to my Roy, packed pods mand borrowed a pan and backpack liner from Willie. Spoke to Roy again, him and Rose tried to talk, he didn’t understand her, it was funny!! (love u) :p looked at photos from Qwantani, and we hoyed it up to Qwantani for a final shower before the 2 weeks!! Drama, Maria and Jeff broke up, Maricelle was upset (her and Jeff used to date) - crazy stuff!! Spoke to the family and went to bed 

1st - Day 1!! Waited around for a long time for the group to arrive, did some washing with Tash, got a talk from Archie about what to expect from there guys. Me Maricelle and Rose packed in the sun, was kool, then the grop arrived!! Was pretty hectic, we had no name-lists or anything, Dali took control at the beginning cuz he can speak Xhosa and Soto (sp?! Pronounced soo-too) and that’s what these guys spoke. They spoke a bit of English, but not fantastically, but they did try, and for me and Rose’s sake, we had all the de-briefs and stuff in English as far as possible, and Dali translated when not. Filled in medical forms, sorted out food, went to camp at the lower trees - this was by far the coldest night!! Learned from it, and me and Rose took both her big sleeping bags and zipped them together from then on, soooo much warmer!!

2nd - day 2!! I took most of PT :D didn’t do anything too hectic though, as we’re supposed to build them up during the 2 weeks. Was a pretty hectic morning, we were waiting to see if Sifiso was gunna bring the group shoes cuz these guys hadn’t been given any by the sponsorship company, and and they’re way too poor to afford semi-decent trainers!! Me and Rose and Maricelle and Iona and James were all trying to make a plan to travel together, but they weren’t having any luck with Alida (HR lady) - she kept trying to phone while we were busy instructing, and we were frantically still running around base trying to arrange stuff!! All fell through in the end, but at least I got to spend time with them before I left  I’m with Maricelle now, and I might get to see Rosie again the couple days before I leave. Anyway, we hiked up toi Baba campsite in the afternoon, was a kool hike, the group aren’t too fast and there was one guy Ernest who is sick and was really slow, so it was very chillaxed. Set up camp at Baba. I took de-brienf that night, and it went really well - could have been a disaster!! I got them to talk about the hike and how they found it, then linked it on to talking about themselves and their former lives - it was hectic!! Some of them talked for like 15mins, and after that de-brief they all seemed to chat to each other more, it was really nice to see  some of the stories were hectic!! Pretty tired thjat night.

3rd - day 3!! Couldn’t find the group toilet that morning :p oops. Had PT, then we summated Baba - I took the activity at the top, finding a rock to symbolise something important in your life, and explain why you chose that shape/size of rock and what the thing in life means to you. Mine was incredibly cheesy and about a special someone… I’m not going to say it :p went well!! Took photos, hiked along the ridge to Gorge, a fairly long hike, was awesome!! Stopped and had lunch on very windy rocks :p got to gorge, Jeff/RT/Natasha’s group were camping there as well, kool to see them. Tash nearly fell on the Rox site that day apparently!! Her prassack didn’t bite, and she slid all the way to the bottom, being saved only by the fact she’d correctly knotted the end of the rope, and the staff anchors in Harrismith are too short anyway so she didn’t hit the ground - scary stuff!! Would have been a nasty injury. This was the famous “spicy tomato soup” night :p I made an incredibly spicy soup for starter, it was awesome, it nearly killed Dali and Rose!! :p Rosie ate it all out of politeness, it was too funny to watch. Got a text from Gemma from her holiday with Rory, lovely to hear from her 

4th - day 4!! Planned to let the group have a bit of a lie-in, but they got up early!! Played “shark attack” with the group (awesome dynamic) and then did one of Dali’s activities - we had to build our dream house out of sticks and stones and whatever we could find in nature around us, and explain it to the group, then destroy it afterwards - to show that it takes hard work to achieve your dreams, and to look after what you’ve achieved - as it is incredibly easy to ruin everything with one mistake. Me and Rosie did ours together - spent a lot of time chatting, then quickly did the house, but it was easily the best :p we did it on the river, had a bridge of sticks going across to it, stone walls for the bottom 2 floors and a thatched open-plan room at the top :D was so kool. Got a picture before we destroyed it :p had lunch then went exploring the gorge - was so kool!! We found a bushman pot :p some lovely water pools, if they were deeper we could have kloofed them. Such a different environment down there from the usual landscape - all moist and rainforest-like, reminded me of Ecuador/Belieze a bit!! Came back and moved up a campsite, still at Gorge though. Ted/Maricelle/Billa were also camping at gorge, so me and Rosie went to see them - hoyed the hot chocolate beside the river :D chatted, decided to play the matchstick box pick up game (you have to pick up the matchbox off the floor with your teeth with only your feet touching the ground and only using your body) - I was the only one who managed it, surprisingly!! They kept slapping my bum whenever I got it though, was hilarious :p went back to camp eventually and slept.

5th - day 5!! Woke up with a nasty arrival - period on course, ugh. Made it to PT on time though, and did some of Rose’s funny warm-downs - we had to all massage each other in a circle!! We hiked to Rox - I tied up the group with the group-rope on the way, cuz they still weren’t hiking together, was kool, they learned from it!! Caught up with Dali at the rox site and set up the climbs - was glad we were both there (I didn’t actually have site specs for the second climb, and I had to set it up - if Dali hadn’t been there, I wouldn’t have realised that we had to share hangers and would have abseiled over the edge before realising too late, and having to prassack back up again - not fun!!) Glad I was there for his sake too, cuz when we was setting up climb 1 he didn’t use cows tails, and nearly did the wrong student anchor set-up - they really need to update their older staff on the new set ups, otherwise Dali wouldn’t have known!! He groups climbed, I entertained theones who were waiting in the safe zone. I climbed the afterwords, they’re really fun climbs, not too hard, but long!! I scrambled up them and took photos from the top :D ended up having to rescue Lucky, had to scramble across to his climb and hold his hand for him to get down!! Was a kool experience. Had so much fun, as did the students. Went to the nest campsite, Little Dam, which is near base, and me and Rose hoyed it to base to get more fuel, and Willie let us raid the kitchen, so we had bread for the first time in days!! So strange to go without bread actually, we hoyed tuna and provitas for lunch on rations!! Went back to camp and cooked dinner - another 3 course meal :p James and Willie came with our food drop, and they had bought me and Rose chocoloates and hidden them in, it was so sweet!! Finally got my biltong as well, they forgot biltong at the start of the course. Took photos, and went to bed.

6th - day 6!! The group were to do their own PT today, but they didn’t really understand the difference between stretches and exercises, so we had to take over :p hiked to Ararat that day, stopping off at base to get cleaning kits for the group to wash clothes. Got there in time to see Jeff and Natasha both dangling from the abseil line - seriously, that girl is a walking near-miss form!! This time, her prassack bit and she couldn’t get it off, so Jeff had to go down and rescue her. Me and Rosie did trust activities as part of the rox de-brief - it did not go well!! They just didn’t trust each other to catch them, especially in trust fall (me and Rosie got moored in the face cuz they wouldn’t fall back correctly) but we had a good de-brief afterwards, and had a good discussion with them about trust and risks and friendship. Got another food drop (the drops worked out funny on this course) :p and pitched in the long grass - quite interesting!!

7th - day 7!! Abseil day :p grou sorted out their food, and me and Rosie went up to do the abs set-up - bit of confusion as the ropes are all a little too short for comfort, so we played around a lot with hangers, as I technically didn’t have site specs and she hadn’t done it for a while, but we got it perfect in the end ;p abseiled down and supported at the bottom, which involves a lot of waiting around!! We listened to music and wrote up our diaries, was kool, and I took all the participants off the line. Was a success, everyone did it!! Went back down and played lots of dynamic games, some were hilarious!! Had the skipping rope out and everything :p visited Jeff/RT/Tash again, as they were camping with us again. Had reception, so spoke to Roy when the students went to their tents, was kool!!

8th - day 8!! The rainy day… woke up, and realisesd that Rose’s sock was soaking, and the rain had leaked in the bottom of the tent!! Not too badly though, the group were soaked!! We just stayed in the tents, tried to make breakfast, was a bit chaotic, took shelter in RT’s tent, participants refused to come out of the tents until we told them the truck was coming to pick them up to go back to base - that was the only problem we had with them, actually. So we went back to base, and got dry (it had stopped raining by then) and we got some good banter on the go in the kitchen. Ended up sleeping on a mattress in a tent, ooooooh yea!! And, the trainees had arrived!! Someone helped me down from the truck, then I realised it was Pieter!! Nice surprise, as I didn’t know if I’d see them again before I left. Was kool to catch up with them 

9th - day 9!! The weather was looking a bit dodgy, so we decided to camp at Little Dam again. And just do a hike loop to East Bay and back - it was lovely, E-bay - pretty and like a proper country campsite. We chilled and chatted, then had a de-brief on the way back led by Dali - we all had to give our most memorable days for happy and sad times, and Dali related the experiences to the OB course, it was pretty kool. I had to think of the spot - my memories were when Ailsa was born and when Grampa died. Makes you think eh.

10th - day 10!! No PT, as an early start - we hiked to Qwantani Bay, to start canoeing!! We were supposed to start the previous day, but couldn’t due to the weather. So me and Rose did the float tests (freezing) and Nolyn did safety with them, and me and Nolyn hoyed it in the kayaks and off we all went!! Was kool to be in charge of them on the water, only had to raft up (bring everyone together) 2 or 3 times. Was a lovely paddle, nice weather for it, not to hot with a cool breeze, nice to think… when we got there, I decided to kayak roll, as Iwas determined to still be abnle to do it - my hands were used to the cold water by then, so it was a shock when I went under and it was freeeeeeeeezing!! I luckily came up 1st time, and couldn’t breathe for a few seconds!! Was soooo cold, got changed quick and had lunch, then dinner soon after :p collecting water there in the dark is a mission, cuz Island Bay (where were were camping) is surrounded by water from 3 sides (can’t remember the geographical term for it!!) and there’s only 1 place easy to collect from. Me and Rosie spoke to Roy on the phone, was fun!!

11th - day 11!! The group decided they wanted to hike straight to Rovavles (the next campsite) before breakfast, cuz they thought it was going to rain - nightmare!! But it was a nice enough hike, we stopped and had breakfast at base anyway cuz we had to pick up their solo food. Hiked to Rondavles, had lunch, and Rosie briefed the solo and we put them in their solo spots (some are a MISSION to get to!!) chilled a bit that afternoon, hiked back to base again with Rose to get extra lemon creams, as Lucky didn’t have them in his pack. Photo banter on James’s camera, then went back with the stuff. Me and Rosie chatted a lot on the way back about our familes, she told me stuff I had no idea about, and it was quite something to hear - can’t believe she’s kept all that in so long, and her situation was quite similar to mine, in a way!! Pitched our tent in the rondavel, cuz it was a cold one :p cooked in the fireplace there, was so kool, Rosie made rice pudding!! Had a massage session, out bodies were aching from 11 nights of wozzie mats (even though mine is inflatable) :p and slept.

12th - day 12!! Not much to do really, apart from check on the participants, and they were all fine. Me and Dali hiked back to base to pick up pencils and jotters for the students, and I spent half an hour dropping them off at everyone’s solo sites - they were hectically placed!! Managed to fall in the river while I was at it :p only really wet my feet though, was lucky. Did some washing, then chatted to Rosie - got upset, as I knew the next day was probably gunna be the last time I’d see her while in SA  we had an awesome lunch then took the rubber tubes we’d found in the other rondavel to the reservoir just up the hill - it was a magical afternoon, so relaxing, and such a beautiful spot. James and Nolyn joined us, and we all mini-kloofed in, it was so funny!! FREEZING!! Wasn’t so bad for me, as I had already jumped in, but Rosie hadn’t :p too funny. Went back, started the student’s paperwork, I made everyone dinner and did rice pudding Lynn-style, with peanut butter, milo and sugar, YEA!! Was so nice. Me and Rose had a pretty hectic chat that night before we slept, don’t think either of us slept much though.

13th - day 13!! And my last day of the course, as I had to travel to Potch to pick up gear for the Lapalala course. Kina sucked to be taken off a day early, but there was a few of us - Tash, Iona, Maricelle and Lulu, so it wasn’t too bad. Was a horrible morning kina, lots of goodbyes, as I wasn’t gunna see half the staff again!! They all wrote in my book though  was nice. Hiked down to see Ted before I left, will miss him!! Everyone else was back at base by that point to start clean-up, and Alida (HR lady) had arrived to give everyone their individual interviews. I spoke to her about leave, got stuff sorted, and let her hear the crazy message I’d got from Deon, so something is hopefully gunna be done about it  saying bye to Maria was hard, as she’s also leaving soon, so she was saying bye to all of us who were going to Potch as well!! Saying bye to Rose was one of the worst feelings ever - we just had to remind ourselves that its not goodbye forever, as she’s planning to come work in the UK next year, and it should be fairly easy for her as her maw stays there  even if it doesn’t work out, I’ll definitely be going back to SA in the near enough future!! So we went to Qwantani to shower, me and Maricelle hoyed the ice-cream and chocolate on the go :p caught up a bit with Iona, as I hadn’t seen her properly for 2 weeks, she was with Maria and Lulu, was kool!! And drove to Potch. Good banter actually, looked at photos, stopped to get food a few times so wasn;t too treacherous. Chatted to Maricelle a lot, really got to know each other even more, was damn kool, talked a lot about life before OB. Got to Potch and everyone was pretty tired, I couldn’t sleep though, too much hectic thinking from saying bye to folk!! Wrote some letters to people, then went to bed eventually after playing some pianoooo :D

14th - would have been day 14 :p prepared gear and pods for Lapalala, me and Iona made everyone packed lunches (I am now EXPERT at cutting cheese slices with a knife) :D and hoyed it to Lapalala!! Me and Maricelle got facebook on the go, was awesome. We saw wildabeast, wartogs, a rhino, jekaals, impala, it was so awesome!! Like a game-drive all over again :p we got to the house, Masetze (sp?!) that we stay in - its so kool, like a holiday home!! Me and Monkey and Iona and Tash and Henk and Pieter took over the attic - and me and Iona got the BEDS, woo!! I sliced my finger open cutting a tomato, so made a cleaning and cooking rota instead :p we usually get fed at the Wilderness School down the road if you’re not on course, but that didn’t always happen this time. Went with Monkey down the hill to get reception, spoke to Roy (Happy 16 months!!) :D was kool to talk things through. Spoke to mum as well, we spotted so warthogs, was funny!! Went back up to the house and slept.

15th - had a nice enough sleep, and me and Iona and Natasha joined the trainees on site specifics with Kobus (northern area co-ordinatior) was quite interesting, we did some map-work, river crossing (we mucked it up the 1st time!!) visited the rox site - it’s a pretty hectic one, really difficult to climb and set up!! We didn’t climb it though  not enough time. Bit of a hike in the dark back, talked a lot about first aid and snakes :p had dinner, went on the phone to Kieran, was pretty awesome to speak to him before he went on holiday!! Went to bed, couldn’t really sleep though.

16th - was pretty tired, had site specifics again, this time abs instead of rox. Was a nice hike, me and Iona were in charge of the map for most of it, we did a pretty good job!! River crossing was much better today - had some throw-bag action on the go when Willie “fell” in!! The abs set-up is so kool - different from all the other place’s abs set-ups, the staff anchor is just an alpine butterfly, and we just use a prassack and no figure 8 to go between the ledges (which doesn’t entirely fit in my mind, but that’s the way it goes) :p we found an old steam train, and explores some of the wilderness a bit, was awesome!! Got back earlier, had a shower and de-brief of the day, took a walk with Nadia and had a chat. Looked at the programme and decided who we were gunna support, it ended up I’d be supporting Maricelle’s group the whole time, which was awesome!! Went down to Consistancy campsite to see her to arrange times for leaving for rox tomorrow, went to the school to see the library, was interesting!!

17th - THAT day with the rox disaster!! Morning started off pretty damn hectically - didn’t get a chance to check my gear, as Archie had taken it down already. Good job Iona and Tash had left later for abs and realised they had one of my figure 8’s back at base… Willie came screeching to the rescue in the buckie though!! S’all good :p so got to the campsite, me and Monkey checked the gear, packed it up and hiked to the rox site. The float tests and river crossing went well, I was on throw-bag duty for float tests but lead the river-crossing - going across to take the rope for the students at a high water-pressure area with a heavy bag of gear on your back is not the easiest, but I managed without falling :p held the rope for the 1st few students, then got them to take over. Ended up going back and forward a few times to take back helmets and the like, as we didn’t have enough :p hiked the rest of the way to rox, glad I was with the group as there is a lot of paths that side that look the same!! Then the drama started… I went up and did the set-up, I hadn’t equalised my staff anchor perfectly as I’d misjudged the hangers, but it was still ok to go down. So I went down (stupidly without a spare prassack) and got to the hangers and my figure 8 wouldn’t lock on the new thin ropes, so I slid and my prassack bit, and it just so happened at that particular point that I couldn’t reach the rock face to help me, so I was stuck, with a massive bee’s nest just below my right foot (which should have already been removed). So I managed to get over to the ledge by the other climb by scrambling and with the help of Maricelle and a sling at the top. Went back down, and really hurt my ankle jumping down on to one of the ledges, and the figure 8 slipped again - did not feel safe, so came down and Monkey tried to do the set-up - same thing happened to her, it slipped and she was lucky her prassack didn’t bite or she would have got stuck as well!! The bees were really bothering us by that point, so we decided to give up. I went to take the set-up down, and had to retrieve the sling I’d used earlier - had not been that scared in a while, ended up in very awkward positions rescuing a sling!! Was fine though, and the river crossing on the way back was nice and quick. Got back to the campsite, to find Monkey’s break hadn’t been dropped, so I ran to call people to find out what had happened, but luckily the group were understanding and said they’d wait until their next campsite. So I hiked back to base, got a shower, and that’s when then ankle really started to hurt… it totally swelled up, and got progressively more painful. Its just the way I’d landed on it, the force went right up through. Monkey told me to take her plunger and make myself filter coffee, which I did :p walked with Nadia to dinner at the school, nice food, we got ice-cream!! Had to get a lift back up to the house it was that sore, I got a nice concoction of pills to ease the pain, and played poker with everyone at base (I was 3rd, not too shabby!!) Hobbled to bed.

18th - woke up in serious pain, got a bit worried. Long day… had brekkie, did washing, didn’t support cuz I couldn’t hike. Lucky there was 3 of us for 2 activities :p went with Willie to pick up/drop off water drums, sent texts, read a bit, chatted to Willie, went to the school for lunch, was nice!! Camped out with Maricelle at car park that night, so went down and took photos for her for group dynamics. Iona brought me braai food and warm clothes when it got cold, bless her :p it wasn’t that cold!! That’s the kool thing here, people were really looking after me well with the whole ankle thing. Cooked for Monkey, chatted loads, and went to sleep.

19th - cooked brekkie while Monkey filled up water for the group, and Iona came down to take over when they went to abseil (still couldn’t hike) but my ankle felt a lot better!! Went with Arch and Willie to the school, chilled, read up on the wild animals, defrosted bread in the microwave (really!!) and went down and saw the obstacle course being run. Willie by this point was also an invalid, as he’d put his foot through the balance beam. We actually were doing a 3-legged walk down to the river at abseil when we had to drop off bread, was too funny. Took some photos of the abs, and came back and had lunch at the school again, very nice, and wandered back up to the house to sort certificates (half the names were wrong, oh dear!!) and went back down to obsticle course to take photos - me and Willie had a hopalong race, and he cheated!! Me and Willie and Archie went fishing at the river down there, was kool, Willie caught an massive fish but we let it go cuz it was full of eggs. Observed the obstacle course again, was good fun to see, Henk and Maricelle’s groups competed against each other. It is one kool obstacle course!! Went back up to base, had a cup of coffeeeeeeeee, and went dow to the school for dinner and the talent show, was kool!! Saw the staff planner, was not happy (but its sorted now so its fine) :p spoke to Roy  and hoyed it back to the campsite, I’d left my stuff there fron the previous night, so stayed around and chatted to Monkey for ages, then walked back up the hill to base - nearly got lost tho, its amazing how different the area looks pitch black!! Went to sleep eventually, this is gunna be another really difficult goodbye I think 

20th - woke up early, Iona came and chatted to me about the final challenge that we were supposed to be running (which we didn’t actually run, but that’s a rather frustrating story and wasn’t our fault, so won’t go in to it) we ended up making folk breakfast, then went down to car park and helped clean-up - me and Willie and Iona collected ash, fun shiz!! Closing circle was fun (I HAVE A BALL, I PUT IT HERE!!) - this awesome game one of the participants came up with - its basically a dance, which gave us hours of amusement afterwards. They’re a nice bunch this group - volunteers, late 20s, from a group called Love Life, who promote the risks of teenage pregnancy and HIV/Aids. Brilliant vibe with the groups. Played some more games, they gave the certificates, and we quickly cleaned up the house and showered and left for potch!! Me and Chris and Pieter and Monkey ended up in the back of the bucke with Henk driving and Tash in front, cuz we wanted to go watch the rugby :p British Lions just got beat by the South African Springboks, good game!! Had dinner in an awesome syeak place called spurs, really chuffed cuz I wanted to go there before I left!! Slept a bit on the last leg of the journey, managed to get Flip a cake and card cuz its his 18th!! Arrived back at base at about half 9 and started the party, Willie and Flip and Iona had already arrived in the truck and had the fire going - another major party night!! Soooo much fun, there’s some awesome photos, we all ended up swapping clothes!! Went to bed around 4.

So, I’m pretty tired today!! Woke up late, showered, Archie (boss around here) didn’t get up til 10 so we chilled!! Cleaned life-jackets and ropes and cut Iona’s haird - accidently have her layers on both sides of her hair, but she liked it (thank god!!) hoyed lunch, and came on here to start the epic, had a break at one point to have the course de-brief, was interesting. Going to find out tomorrow exactly when I’m leaving, can’t believe it!!

Don’t know exactly what’s happening, but we have a rough plan so its kool. Hopefully speak to you guys again soon!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Advertisement



22nd June 2009

"Parting is such sweet sorrow."
Who'd have believed it!! - from Jan 'til now you've made SUCH good friends. You will see them again so all is not doom and gloom. Remember we will be here to help you through the next phase in your life - in which you'll meet more awesome people. Love you lots, Mum xxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb