Surf and Two Gone


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape
March 9th 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Surf and Two Gone

Friday was hot in the afternoon and there were lots of people on the beach. The surf was good and Boozy Susie (I managed to pass that name on quickly although I think we are neck and neck) joined me for a great swim. She is my fellow swimmer. Some don’t venture and some just paddle or dabble on the edge. There were plenty of real surfers out and there are a few kite surfers.I have not seen any wind surfing here. There is plenty of wind but it must not be the right sort. It is a great beach although not a particularly attractive sea front.
We had another trip yesterday to Kragga Kama, a game park, where we saw giraffe, zebra, wart hog, impala, wildebeest, bontebok, waterbok, bushbok and vervet monkeys. Did you know that the correct collective for zebra is a dazzle and for giraffe is a journey? Well, I didn’t and I thought they were quite poetic and useful for devisers of pub quizzes or crosswords.
Last night was Africa night in the hotel restaurant and also the last night for the two volunteers who have been with me. They had invited Marilyn our deputy principal to come for a meal so it was a bit of a party. Some of us had bought African style clothes in our travels round the market so we dressed up a bit. There was a rather sad guitarist in the bar and a few of us had a quick bop to liven proceedings and were quite late up - after 10. We go up very early normally! Well we do have to get up early!
Sunday has been designated chill out and we will just trot over to the Sunday market and have a walk on the beach and read.


Advertisement



9th March 2010

dazzles and journeys!
Hi Sue, Great to read more about your adventures. I love the notion of a dazzle of zebras! It seems perfect. However, I am so not so sure about a journey of giraffes!?? Need more time to think about that one!! I'm glad you have an intrepid swimming (and boozing?) companion - enjoy it to the full. I am sure you will! I look forward to hearing about it all when you are home again and to seeing some photos, perhaps. x Rose
9th March 2010

I love that info about the zebras and the giraffes!

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb