Where in Addo is our Hotel?


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
February 20th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today we ride from Mossel Bay to the Addo National Park. I ended up starting late again and riding own my own for most of the way. I eventually catch up to (Peri, Ian, and Otto) but lose them in Plettenberg Bay wandering around looking for lunch.

I lunch on my own (again) and find Phebe & Patrick, Ellen and Murray just as I’m about to stop for gas in Humansdorp. They suggested I catch up to them as they ride R330 to get away from the boring N2 highway. I didn’t catch up them but was instead schooled on how to drive mountain passes by a crazy courier in his modified half-ton going over 140km/h.

I catch up to another group (Peter, Bob, Bon Bon, Bruno & Kris and Norm & Fionnuala as I was fueling in Addo on the way to the hotel. We ride 16km of dirt road up a mountain pass to our hotel. This is the first time I’ve ridden the bike off road and I’m tentative until Bruno & Kris pass me and demonstrate "faster is better."

Our hotel rooms are individual huts with Thatch roofs! It’s the coolest place I’ve stayed so far but I can’t explore too much since we arrive and ate late. Tomorrow is an early start (5:45!) for our game drive in the Addo Elephant Park.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb