Sierra Leone (August 5-16)


Advertisement
Sierra Leone's flag
Africa » Sierra Leone
August 17th 2005
Published: September 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

* * *I just added a bunch of pictures to the Sarajevo entry if you want to check them out* * *

Well, my trip is now over and I'm back in Calgary. To finish it off, I spent just over two weeks in Sierra Leone to do some volunteer work with my dad and sister Shanti. It was a great experience, and very interesting because it's so different from our western society. It's definitely not the place to go if you're looking for comfort and conveience, but that's makes the whole experience more interesting. Unfortunately, my camera died on day 2 so I missed out on a lot of good pictures, but I've got some posted here.

Sierra Leone is a poor country and just came out of a civil war a few years ago but the people are very friendly and outgoing. I especially enjoyed interacting with the kids, who are very intrigued by white people. Everything seems to be old and rundown: the roads, the vehicles, the buildings, and the general infrastructure. Freetown, the capital and biggest city, is usually without power and many people life in small shacks. It's also a very lively city with crowded streets and lots of noise, probably because there's not much to do in a shack with no electricity. The rest of the country feels very rural.

I spent about half of my time in Freetown and half the time 'upcountry'. The roads are pretty brutal but I only got carsick once fortunately. I got to borrow a dirt bike for a day and that's definitely the way to get around (although Shanti may not agree with that). Shanti and I got a ride to Bo (the second biggest city) from Freetown in a World Vision Land Cruiser with an insane driver who didn't slow down for the bad sections or the villages where there were many people and animals walking on the road. It was like being in a paint shaker for 3 hours...all the pens in my pack exploded during the drive. We even killed a goose while roaring through a village, and our driver got an earful from the villagers when the truck stalled.

So what did we do? I came here hoping to get involved in some water projects but there isn't much activity with that until the dry season so I just helped my dad and Shanti with their work. My dad's organization is Christian Veterinary Missions and he's setting up small chickens farms to help poor farmers. There was also a large shipping container of donated supplies that got shipped from Canada but it didn't get released until after I left. Shanti is a teacher and I was her 'assistant' while she conducted a literacy workshop for teachers from small villages. I also went to an orphanage with Shanti and took pictures of the kids so that they can be matched up with sponsors.





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Freetown - ALWAYS watch your stepFreetown - ALWAYS watch your step
Freetown - ALWAYS watch your step

I learned this the hard way.
Driving through FreetownDriving through Freetown
Driving through Freetown

The roads are shared by cars AND pedestrians


1st September 2005

Welcome back
It's been great reading your blog. Hopefully you'll have some more stories and pictures to share next time we see you (maybe on Friday the 9th?).
8th September 2005

AMAZING!
I love every one of your blogs....amazing...glad I stumbled here :)
11th September 2005

nice pictures. . . did you really fall into the sidewalk? What is down there anyway?
17th September 2005

Sidewalk
They have really deep gutters for all the rain they get there. I fell into one when I was taking a picture of kids and took a step backwards, to the amusement of everyone watching.
22nd November 2005

you were brave...to take the helicopter!
when i was in sierra leone last year, you could not get me on an ex-soviet helicopter if you paid me to. it was strictly ferry/hovercraft for me. i enjoyed seeing your photographs. i was there for ten weeks, and i hated it a lot of the time, but i also loved it. it was such a rich and wonderful experience for so many reasons. seeing your photographs really makes me want to go back! http://jenbrea.blogspot.com
16th December 2005

The more things change
I was at Fourah Bay College back in 87-88, prior to the conflicts in the last 10-14 years, but I still remember the helicopter ride from the airport and the beauty and poverty of Sierra Leone (not to mention the joys of malaria and the lack of electricity and refrigeration). Glad to see people like your family and associates doing such great work. Thanks! Guy
17th October 2006

i love sierry leone
sierry leone makes me happy and it is lovly place to stay in i am from london.
14th November 2006

News of Alikalia
Thanks so much for posting the pics, I was a PCV in Alikalia in the early 80s,it is mind boggling to see the ruined tank there. The road looks unchanged! Any more information on how people are doing there would be appreciated - did you see any fish ponds there, the last one we built was right on the main road into town.
11th February 2007

Good Values
I am impress for a family to go and help people out.... for this ,I respect that Kindest regards Dayvid
21st October 2007

Airline
Hi, I am an air stewardess and i am about to go on a trip to Sierra leone with my airline, Good to see some pictures and stories of what to expect down there. We go to quite a few places in Africa and the airline encourage us to take things such as pens and pencils for the children of these countries. So anyway thanks for an interesting read..Lydia
9th January 2008

Paramount airlines
Good to see that you made the intrepid 7 minute journey on the helicopter......just wanted to tell you that Paramount is no longer flying as they had a crash in May 07 in which all died apart from 1 crew member...a total of 22 died....got the photos if you want them sending.
5th March 2008

Thank you!
Thank you for sharing your blog. My daughter is in 6th grade, Arlington, TX. She is doing a presentation on Sierra Leone, and printed a couple of your pictures to share with classmates. Thank you very much for posting this information!
19th March 2010

Fourah Bay College
I enjoyed your narrative of Sierra Leone. I was Dean of the Faculty of Economic and Social Studies and Chair of the Department of Political Science in the mid-1960s, on leave from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. My family and I enjoyed our experience, and I participated in the creation of the independent University of Sierra Leone.
14th September 2010
Road to Alikalia

Not strange
Hi everyone. The road is sure bad but people do get to where they are going no matter how long it takes. It is better than not having a road at all. Liberia is not a stranger to this. I think what President Bai and the people of Sierra Leone needs to do, is to to allocate more money and most of his presidential term to road construction. The next president will do some thing else. James Dwalu Monrovia, LIBERIA
11th April 2011

Come back once again
mate....u need to check freetown again and take a ride to Bo. I promise you that you will not need a land cruiser... you can even take a ferari or porch 911 the road is awesome.... come again, it is now a different freetown, more fun along the beach, more electricity suply....hey you need to see wilkinson road with a dual carriage way....huuuuuuu....my sweet salone

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb