The Hash...


Advertisement
Sierra Leone's flag
Africa » Sierra Leone » Freetown
March 25th 2013
Published: March 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So – Monday in Freetown! Mark and I headed out to seek out more accommodation for the international runners to stay in the night before they head home. In the evening we headed to the Hash – The Drinking Club with a Running Problem. Apparently there are Hash Harrier groups all over the world, and seeing as they are all keen runners, we thought they were a prime target for our marathon promotion. What an amazing experience! So there are runners and walkers, and for totally social reasons (yeah right!) I joined the walkers group so I could chat to people. Every week they start in a different location. The runners have trails left out for them and the walkers have a leader. Halfway around, someone has carefully planned a water stop (cold water!) and we continue round small communities, avoiding raods with traffic. The communities are a bit unsure what is going on as a about 50 people run or walk past their house. Then, once it is over, it turns into a big drinking session. And of course I was initiated as I was a 'Hash virgin'. Mark had been once last year and Emma had been a couple of weeks back so they sat back and laughed. It was not too bad, but I was asked my name, where I was from, what I was doing in Sierra Leone and who made me come. Of course my naturally innocent answer to the first question was lot of people. The main guy asked me to point them all out and each time I pointed to people who encouraged me to come to the Hash I got a big cheer, Mark, Emma, Assad (Pharmacy from last week) and Assad (Danny Devito). It wasn't until they asked they next person 'who made you come' did I realise why so many people laughed at my response! Oooops! So then, all us newbies had to down a drink of something or other – it's been a while since I had to down a drink! Then Assad and Danny Devito kept making sure our drinks were always topped up. Met some interesting people including Anne who started a business over here in Internet Presence (not presents like I thought!). After you have been to the Hash 10 times, you get a Hash name – hence Assad was named Danny Devito due to his looks and voice! Emad's name is Hashsprin (aspirin – pharmacy – get it?) but Dany Devito's seems to have stuck slightly more than Emad's has. Through the evening I was speaking to Danny Devito about his time in Sierra Leone. Although from Lebanese parents, he was born in Sierra Leone, married and has 3 boys all at university in Lebanon. Before the war he owned the biggest supermarket in Freetown. Unfortunately the Rebels stole it all and by the end of the war he was left with nothing. Being the business man that he is, he started from scratch and has now built up a very successful chicken business and imports frozen chickens in from Brazil! As well as owning a hotel that he lets us stay in! He was telling me during the war he had a little influence, and one day he saw a man plead for his life. He stepped in and ordered the rebels to stop. Somehow, miraculously the rebels stopped and let the man go. The man has never forgotten our friend Danny and is now married with a child. So – some nice stories do come out of such a horrible time.

Tuesday was the day we stumbled on the Sierra Leone Olympic Committee and met with the President. We just found a vehicle (see pic) and asked around who the driver was. He led us up many many stairs to the Sierra Leone Olympic Committee office and the next mint we were sitting in the President's office. And in his office were the two petals that represented Sierra Leone in the cauldron for the Olympic and Paralympic Games. WOW!! Unfortunately my computer went on strike, so after asking around, I realised I had to stay in Freetown for another night whilst I left my 'puter with a recommended man who said he could definitely fix it. A few hours later he accepted defeat so Emma and I tried to contact as many people as possible from her PC to see if they could help! My dear sister spent all night researching new computer options (thanks sally) but luckily for me, Emma's sister returned with a solution that sorted my lil' 'puter out so he is back to full health! Phew! My last evening in Freetown was spent with Danny Devito watching him play squash with some other Hash Harriers and we went for a lovely but slightly strange Chinese meal. We were in our own private dining room and even had a TV which showed commercials the whole time. I even saw the previews of the next series of Greys Anatomy!



The next morning started with another Lebanese breakfast in a pharmacy (starting to become a routine) before a meeting with Africell (mobile phone company out here) who want Emma and I to sing the marathon jingle that they will get played on all the local radio stations (I forgot to tell them I was not allowed in the choir at school – whilst Emma has auditioned for X Factor!). Then we met Jo, an Australian lady who worked for Unicef last year. This year she is back in Sierra Leone, raising money to pay for 30 Freetown based runners to come to Makeni to take part in the marathon. Wow – some people deserve a medal! She is also working on fund-raising for last year's marathon winner (who was one of a team of 20 runners she paid for last year) to go out to New York to run the New York Marathon. There are so many amazing people doing so many amazing things. Then back to Makeni! We made it just in time for a quiz night at the Clubhouse where we proudly came third (there were only three teams!) but to those of you who have been on a quiz team with me before – I got quite a few right! And the very last question I was the ONLY person in the room to get it right! Check me out! (ok the question was name that tune – and being the only Jew in the room the point was easily mine when they played Hava Nagila – although I did have to fight the person with the pen who was busy scribbling 'something Greek'!). And – after a big thanks to Danny Devito who has lent me a lovely fan and Joe (another Lebanese friend) who bought it back from Freetown to Makeni, I am the proud owner (temporary) of a lovely fan that lets me sleep at night! Hooray! It also blocks out the noise of the little mouse that I share my room with so makes me slightly less nervous at night! How I get it back to Freetown before I leave I do not know but right now – I don't care!



Thursday was interesting – the normal marathon duties followed by a request to count some money. If Mark and I go and count some money for a security company, then they will pay us $10 an hour! Mark and I jumped at the chance and spent a couple of hours early evening busily counting money and putting pay in envelopes. Bear in mind that 10,000 leones is the biggest note you can get out here – that is just under £2! If you change some money here you need to take a big bag to carry it all as it takes so much space! We stuffed envelope after envelope of various amounts for his local staff as their monthly pay. It was quite fun – I am sad like that and love counting money! Whilst we were busy, the staff were all waiting patiently outside for us to finish. Not only did we get pay as a reward, we also had Neil from SSGI to cook us cajun chicken and chips! YUMMY! I think when I return to the UK I will get quite a culture shock with simple things like running water and the use of a fridge!



Friday I travelled an hour to Lunsar to visit one of the project areas. I met Justin who very kindly walked me round town. He told me about how since the mining camps have come to the area, the side affects of the commercial sex amongst street children has risen. He showed me the corners where they hang out and how Street Child is helping reduce this number. He took me round the markets, where a lot of the street children sleep at night and work during the day – grinding nuts or any other work they can get. He has invited me back next week so he can take me to Missimera (a ferry ride away) where there are Street Child schools and I can see and understand more. I am working towards finding suitable projects for the international runners to come and see. Whilst on our walk, I met many beneficiaries who Justin introduced me to. It made everything seem so real and I really understood why I am out here working for free bathing in a bucket. We walked passed a group of school girls – they were maybe around 12 years old. Children always stop and stare and ask for your name or want to shake your hand. One said hi and then another stopped me and said 'my friend wants to talk to you' so we stopped and the original one asked me my name. Her name was Francis. She then said 'I would like you to be my adoptive mother'. I nearly burst into tears then and there! I gave her a big hug and all her friends laughed and cheered! Justin spoke in Creole to her telling her that I would be back next week. Oh if only I could take a couple home with me…..



The weekend started with a hike up the mountain, Wusum Hill (some may say big hill but I am writing this so I say mountain!!) near our place.we started at 7:30am whilst it was cool and then hiked up the near vertical steep side and yes – it was steep. So steep that we would never have been able to come down the way we went up! It was a 30 min pretty intense climb but it had amazing views from the top. It was beautiful and we could see a great deal of the marathon course from being so high up! Saturday night we organised a karaoke at the Clubhouse which was really successful. We even managed to make a little money from it to put towards the marathon expenses as we charged people to take part! Who knew these mining lads would be so eager to pay to sing! Craziness but a fun evening was had by all. Then the younger volunteers dragged me to Mems – a nightclub. But we had to watch our bag as it is a well known pick pocket spot. I held on to my very basic bag for dear life. Our friend thomas disappeared to the loo and reported when he got back he felt three attempts of people trying to pick pocket him! Hmmmm….. Is it time to go home yet I though to myself? But getting home on your own is not really an option so I tried to relax and enjoy myself. The next minute Emma comes rushing over in a state – her camera has been stolen from her bag that she was holding on very tightly to. Emma loved her camera and felt the zip open and saw the guy who took it, but in a dark place with all these dark faces, all she saw was a white t-shirt run away into the crowds. Some locals came to our aid and one insisted on trying to beat up every person with a white shirt on. When the fighting continued, we figured it was our time to leave, and I asked one of the miners who was here with his driver if he minded taking us all home. What a horrible end to such a great day. At least noone was hurt (well – who knows about the innocent ones wearing a white t-shirt). Due to our marathon links, we know every security firm in Makeni so they are all on the look out for Emma's bright blue camera so fingers crossed, we may be able to get it back. Sunday morning was a hungover morning for most (but me as I only had one beer the night before).



A couple of volunteers went to visit one of the Clubhouse staff in hospital today as she unfortunately had a miscarriage at 8.5 months. She loved the card we made her, but understandably was very upset. And the rest of the day has been fairly laid back. Mark tried to sell me for 1,000,000 leones and had to tell someone else he was my husband!All in a day's work! Tomorrow is a whole new day and week and it starts off with my birthday! What can it bring eh? Hopefully a good day! Night all xx PS – feel free to tell me your news – Facebook eats all my internet credit so can't be on it for long so do email me at traceybravo@gmail.com to tell me what you are up to.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb