360 Art Exhibition in Mahe


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
July 11th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day Nine of visitors and another social occasion to avail ourselves of - this time an art exhibition. Our old next door neighbour along with a well known local Seychellois artist is exhibiting at the Alliance Francaise and we have an invite to the opening, excitement indeed. In all honesty, we’re pretty tired but head down there. The word is that the President might make an appearance, he doesn’t, which is a shame as I’m getting used to this hobnobbing. An interminably long and incomprehensible speech - and not just because it’s in French - is given by some bloke who I assume is to do with the school, followed by the two artists, John Roberts and Nigel Henri. The paintings are colourful and I like both the styles represented though Nigel Henri’s work that uses a lot of fish symbols I’m less keen on it as it reminds me of souvenirs that are produced for tourists (harsh?) but then what do I know?

The award of how to make yourself look like a complete *ob was won by me as after helping myself to the bread and brie that was on offer (not to be sniffed at ) I returned upstairs and found myself in the background of a TV interview. Automatically, I mouth ‘Sorry’ in an exaggerated manner to the camera man and then panic, what if it’s live? What a pillock.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb