And an interview!


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
June 18th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It’s all go, I don’t know which way to turn, beset on all sides by potential work opportunities - though they barely pay me more in a month than I earned in a day in the UK. I neglected to complete a Cass Business School survey on salaries after graduation fearing that I’d completely skew their results leading them to conclude that their graduates actually earn less when they leave. I don’t think they’d like me for that.

Social Seychelles helped me along as I received an email from a marketing company here who’d seen the site and invited me for a chat. I spent an hour with the manager who was really friendly and the role sounded interesting but at a level lower than that I usually work, ideally they wanted full time and the money wasn’t great. The reality is that now I’m in the Seychelles to get a job that actually pays western compared with local salaries is nigh impossible, this I know, and what I was offered is very good competitively in Seychelles. I explained though, that with my skills I’d be looking for more but he wouldn’t budge. Being a proud (or foolish) sort, I was disappointed by this perceived lack of indifference to what I could offer. If he’d have at least pretended to go away and see if he could get more money, I’d have been happy; I wanted to be wooed goddamit and he wouldn’t play! So I went home and threw all my toys out the pram. Waahhhhhhhh.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb