The randomness of strangers


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
June 18th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Or is it SIBA?
With a few irons in the fire as they say, I felt it high time to start the whole business application cycle again. I’d adapted my business plan to reflect just my experience and qualifications but had a few questions remaining so trotted off to the business advice place again that I had thought was SIBA (Seychelles International Business Authority) but was actually SIB (Seychelles Investment Bureau) - someone should point out that this similarity in names is mighty confusing.

At the building entrance, I nodded at a guy who looked vaguely familiar and realised it was the same guy who a few days earlier I’d inanely grinned at thinking I knew him then too. He stopped and said hello under the impression that he knew me. It was soon established that actually neither of us know each other. I don’t what that was about. I flashed my Social Seychelles card and he got out his i-phone. Trumps he won. We chatted and he said he’d get in touch after a business trip - seems he has something to do with lotteries or I misheard and he’s won the lottery in which case the other one better watch his back.

I arrived at SIB and a nice lady was available to speak with me who was helpful but didn’t provide much more information, it was all vaguely couched in ‘get in your proposal and then we’ll consider it’ terms but I was reassured I didn’t have to spend time and energy formulating a finance plan (great MBA graduate me). Dispatched from SIB about half an hour later, I saw that next door was an offshore services company and having wondered if there was a way I could use my UK company to trade, I thought I may as well pop in and ask them (and more time spent in aircon is always good). The person I needed to speak to was out and so I chatted to his colleague instead for about 20 minutes about life in Seychelles and me (always a fascinating topic). We also managed to chat about the guy who I’d bumped into downstairs as turns out they know him. Gotta love the Seychelles.

Eventually, I ran out of scars to tell her about and so made my goodbyes but not before I’d left a Social Seychelles card - careful I might actually get good at networking…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb