Kedougou


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal
March 20th 2010
Published: March 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kedougou area


Life is always preparing us for something, and even small events serve a purpose. One week I went on a school visit on paths that were smooth, yet barely apparent to someone unfamiliar with the area. The next week the paths were as indistinguishable, but the ride jangled 4-wheel drives that took us there. Another way some preparation happened was that I played part in workshops where I was able to observe some techniques from other presenters and then use them when I was alone at work.

The new workshops were in Kedougou region, (it may show up on the map enclosed). It took nearly 12 hours to get there, with ride to transportation depot, 4 hours in first leg, 3-4 hours wait / layover, and 3 hours the last area. Having left before dawn, it was not quite sundown upon reaching the city last Thursday. Friday morning was the bone rattling drive. 1 hour to Segou then 30 minutes to Dindefelou. The next day it was 3 hours to Salemata, just over the border from Guinea.

No outing in Africa is ever routine. One surprise on this was a woman in labor. The principal of a school asked us to give her a ride from the village to the city. It was to be after lunch, rest, another workshop, and the teeth shaking ride but it was her best option. For the 5 or 6 hours we were together this woman never expressed any discomfort. I cannot even imagine what she was feeling.

Driving thru Niokolo National Park there were monkeys, deer, beautiful birds, and warthogs-- the only animals I was quick enough to photograph. I learned the technique of putting the camera to the window, or arm out, and just snapping. Slowing or stopping does not happen much. Some pictures are OK; others get deleted.

The workshops were requested to help teachers find ways to motivate students without beating them. It is illegal to use corporal punishment in schools in Senegal but changing the law has not changed the traditions so easily. It is also common to lower grades as punishment; it is again illegal. The teachers were open and willing to try new ways. I did convince them it is worth trying. We had some great sessions.

Another wonderful preparation this has brought is that I know what I want to do when I grow up: do teacher training seminars in areas where the faculty has little or no access to continued (or introductory) teacher education programs. Don't know how, where, when, but definitely needed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



21st March 2010

Whay a (Inner) Journey
Yanick, I really do not know if I am ready for as rustic a journey; my soul tells me though your journey that I need more creature comforts and modernization. I saw some of what you are experiencing on my trip to South Africa as I traveled through Namibia, but the time was too short lived to be of concern. What are you learning....where will this lead you...will you do this again? I admire your tenacity; Namaste
21st March 2010

What a (Inner) Journey!
Yanick, I really do not know if I am ready for as rustic a journey; my soul tells me though your journey that I need more creature comforts and modernization. I saw some of what you are experiencing on my trip to South Africa as I traveled through Namibia, but the time was too short lived to be of concern. What are you learning....where will this lead you...will you do this again? I admire your tenacity; Namaste
21st March 2010

Memories
I visited Kedougou Thanksgiving 2001. I'd swear I visited the same village as you have in the first photo.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb