CAN'T HAVE VACUUM, CAN'T JUDGE, CAN'T KEEP PAYCHECK


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
December 17th 2009
Published: December 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

FILLING A VACUUM
Nature abhors a vacuum. If a place is empty for any length of time, something will come along to fill it. A vacant field with no intentional planting will soon be overgrown with weeds, then inhabited by insects and rodents. An empty stomach develops hunger pangs. Jesus said when a house is empty 7 deadly spirits move in.

When my life seems barren, unwanted things creep in—first in my thoughts. I have to tend to my mind and decide what to allow in. If I am not occupied with constructive activity, dissatisfaction and negativity sneak in. Since the tasks I came to Senegal to do are not falling into place neatly, I had to orchestrate some responsibilities for myself. They are working with varying degrees of fulfillment.

I continue with 10,000 Girls, an organization that provides support, training, activities to encourage girls' education. I work with older teenagers and young adults in English. All have studied it, but have very low proficiency. They are often preoccupied and distracted so we are progressing slowwwwly. There is a UN office where I am also doing English. Really nice, enthusiastic people. The Alliance Franco-Sénégalaise has a literacy/conversational French class. It is going pretty well. This is not an area where I feel drawn so it pushes me to be creative and alert. Because IFESH does not allow me to be paid, English classes are volunteer arrangements. The Alliance has student fees but I am not being paid. I am feeling that when things are at no cost they are seen as less valuable. There is inconsistent attendance and effort. I have to know that this is not my issue. Mine is to do in standards that are right. As I do my part the returns will come by and by, in some way.

DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER
Some other contrasts in a class I visited. It was in philosophy. They were doing typical topics: Socrates, Plato, Aristotle (with metaphysics thrown in!) The unusual part was the teacher. This is only her second year teaching so she had asked a veteran teacher to come to observe to offer advice. An attractive, young, bright, well-prepared wisp of woman. I thought it would be hard to hear her in this class of about 60 teenagers, in a room that had open windows and other classes as well outdoor sounds nearby. Once she got going she was strong, vibrant, passionate. The students were attentive, eager, respectful.

She was pretty heavily veiled. Only her face (no hair or ears), hands and feet were visible. Her clothing was decorated with subtle embroidery and sequins, including her head scarf. She was actually wearing two thin scarves, one under the other, white over pink. She fit no stereotypes, in spite of what first impressions suggested. Can't judge a book by its cover.

PAYCHECK & PRAYERS
A beginning teacher came to the education office for assistance with his classes. And he came to fulfill a tradition. When someone receives his first paycheck, he gives it all (or a substantial portion) to those who helped him along the way. That may include teachers, friends of parents, those who encouraged him, and then those whose prayers he asks for his success. The funds he gave to the educators here will go to have a shared prayer rug, kettle, and sandals. That way if someone is there at prayer time without personal equipment he (or she) can do ablutions (cleansing for prayers), change out of street shoes, and include him in their devotions.


Advertisement



19th December 2009

Thank you for sharing
Yanick, Indeed there are no coincidences in life since it is an activity in Divine Mind, and those participating are Divinely ordained to show up, share, learn and disseminate. I am learning so much through you; please remember that your blogs are helping me to take a look at my thinking, in addition to allowing me to journey with you. I am keeping you lifted in consciousness as you do the work your Good has chosen for you. Namaste.
27th December 2009

Interesting Christmas
I am on my way to South Africa; but I had to share my thoughts on your recent blog. I chuckled on several occasions at how candid you were especially about the mosquitoes. I had been for warned, and then there was you saying the same thing that I had been told. Unfortunately for me, I am not only disturbed by them, but I am almost always the only one bitten; I have procured the chemical Off, because I must protect my self since I will be in Zaire, the capital of mosquito-doom. I appreciate that you have accepted that where you are is now the accepted norm, and have worked on making the adjustments, example Christmas. I am looking forward to sharing New Years day in Cape Town and experiencing the difference.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb