Tabaski / Ram in the bush


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
December 3rd 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

TABASKI CELEBRATION
Just after American Thanksgiving I got to celebrate Tabaski, commemorating when Abraham's son (Ishmael, ancestor of Muslims) was spared and a ram sacrificed.

Festivities begin early at mosque prayers. Then the men and boys kill the sheep at home. It is shameful not to be able to provide one. They must be skinned and pieces chopped up. Of course it is pretty messy. The women do the rest of the preparation. I missed the killing but saw the skinning.

I went dressed nicely, in off-white. My host asked his wife to give me something to cover my clothes. I thought it would be an old wrap as an apron. She gave me a beautiful outfit. Since I was not planning to do serious work, I was not worried about getting it dirty. The girls (teenagers, school age, and younger) cut & cooked small pieces of meat over a small charcoal grill. The women did the larger items.

Later we were in an area open to the street (a dirt road in a quiet neighborhood) where a constant flow of people strolled by, saying hello and greeting the elderly parents inside. There is a formula many said that I understood without knowing the language. It is a call-and-response: May you have good health, joy, peace; May your prayers be answered this year; May God be with you in all you do. Once an older man led a prayer and everyone joined in, even little kids. Hands are cupped up and just hold a solemn moment. A couple of drummers came along, offered to play & sing, and received money. Lots of kids shake hands, even 3-4 year olds. All were nicely, proudly dressed. Obviously some families bought a bolt of cloth, so adults and children may wear the same fabric, different styles. Kids are given coins, so they leave grinning.

Food was good. This was my first meal in Senegal with no rice and no spoons, just fingers. Delicious mutton stewed with onions and potatoes, french fries, salad, and bread. Later there was taking of food to other people. Elderly women, teenage girls, other women put food in metal pans, wrap them with fabric, put on their head and go deliver. I got a container of grilled meat. In early evening I went along to the home of an elderly uncle, taking food.

That car trip was very interesting, to see the activity. People were decked out in more lamé, bejeweled and embroidered outfits than any ritzy New Year's Eve. Kids were nearly as dressy, with little girls' hair newly done very cute in corn row styles. They looked like dolls. Many were wearing different clothing from earlier, strutting with that "I know I look good" stance. Often men wore white or green boubous. Everyone was very noticeably out to see and be seen, visiting, enjoying being out, very festive.

It was Christmas, New Year's, and Easter all rolled into one: food, family, visiting elders, getting treats, beautiful clothing. The feast was a family effort with hard work. Now they relaxed, showing off. Streets were crowded; people just hanging out. Still all the cars & scooters moving about made dust thick.

The next morning was quiet, like early on January 1st. Later in stores kids are using coins to buy candy. Monday is a holiday and school starts back Tuesday. A day of travel is necessary because many people go back to their home areas. Public transportation is congested. My host's brother and wife came from a city 3 or 4 hours away. They had to go one city and transfer there. They were stuck and could not find seats. After waiting from 7AM to 9PM they called and someone had to go bring them.

MY TABASKI LESSON
This holiday had greater significance for me than I expected. A few days before I felt confusion from a series of meetings. A plan was needed for working with teachers who have no education training. Only there are no resources. No money to compensate teachers or trainers. No funds for travel. No books or supplies. The expertise is waiting and needed.

My reaction was that even Jesus had five loaves and two fish. But I knew that there was a message for ME here. If I only see impossibilities, I am not part of the solution. I had some reflecting to do. The logistics were a challenge. Still that could not defeat the progress. I knew I must first believe in a way out. After that I must find what my part is. I cannot be the pompous know-it-all who thinks I have the answer. Out of the box thinking needed. Right now my part is to know it can be and will be.

The Tabaski feast is about Abraham being able to sacrifice a ram instead of his son. God always provides a way. The ram was not in the thicket by coincidence. In Galilee the kid with lunch (the ONLY person with food) was no fluke. In every situation there is a solution. If I don't see it, it is still waiting. There is a ram in the bush.


Advertisement



5th December 2009

You Are the Ram!
What an interesting read, and what an intriguing challenge you have ahead of you, but you have already been captured; you are the ram, and your are your own resource. With your back ground in education and the oral tradition of the people, maybe you can start there. Now I get why YOU are there. We always advocate as Truth students that we are always in our right places, and has stated it most profoundly: we cannot come up with a question without having the answer. I will pray with you Yanick that the answer will come swiftly, and you will know just what to do. You are growing and acclimating well...Go(o)d speed; I will keep you in highest consciousness, and pray with you as the answer reveals it/ themself/ves.
5th December 2009

Hello from Florida
Hello Yanick, I am really delighted and am enjoying your adventures. I trust by now you have mastered their art of greeting and your water flow has increased. I can only imagine how anxious you are to get started and to see the progress in the present and future teachers. Do continue with your patience and I am praying for a structured teaching plan to be developed. Tabaski is quite a celebration and I love the call-and-response formula. The people do not have much but they always share with others. You also did your part by taking a meal to the elderly uncle. Be safe and healthy. Constance P.S. Yanick, please let me know if you received my regular email also. I do not want to send twice. Thanks.
11th December 2009

Greetings have become not only "proper" but I like the personal contacts, comments, and exchanges. (Had to get over myself some!). Water is not better, and electricity is ... often sporadic. I do check my email regularly, so I get messages there very easily.
11th December 2009

I do accept that I am the ram! Not that I want to be sacrificed, of course, but that there is something I am to do. I listen daily and hear some answers, but it is an ongoing effort. Your prayers and good wishes help me tremendously in expecting more clarity and joy in the process.

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb