Patience, Religion, Dust


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
November 20th 2009
Published: November 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

This past week gave me opportunity to study myself and laugh at my impulsive feelings. This was due to impatience. Things started to get under my skin when I was told I had not greeted people properly. I did a general good morning, not an individual handshake and small talk as is the norm. (Since then I have noticed that the chitchat is a nice way to connect to others. Finding something personal to say and having a little banter forms a courteous bond). I also did not begin by going to the right official in town to introduce myself. I am reminding myself not to sweat the small stuff. I am not on earth to change anyone. If I can serve, help, befriend that will is the best I can achieve.

There were two official meetings I attended this week. Endless. Almost each person present speaks. There is almost a formula. Have notes from which to speak. Give thanks for others for coming. There is more addressing of issues that are beyond the purview of the group gathered, such as changes in education policy from national level. Finish with thanks for your attention.

SOUNDS & ISLAM
In Senegal I first stayed at a small hotel in Dakar, close to a mosque and my introduction to SALAH, prayers required five times a day. I have always respected that those who take time much to pray must stay close to God. In Dakar life goes on without any noticeable interruptions in activities. But you do hear the prayers. All mosques have loudspeaker systems. Prayers are at to be at dawn, but began an hour before I could see any hint of light. Other times are noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, nightfall. There is chanting in none-too-melodious voices.

Prayers were just audible from the hotel. After I settled in Kaolack it was very different. The sound (which I carefully avoid calling noise) is loud. 5:30 AM. Later in the day it is not offensive Then I had to make peace with it. I used chants and prayers as the reminders to be grateful for the blessings in my life. (I was going to try to record the sounds, but instead here is a link for anyone curious. This one is more harmonious than the local one I hear. http://www.electronicocean.com/i-d/Azaan.mp3). The roosters also serenade at other times of the day, but I did not get crowing sound effects).

Some people have prayer rugs with them, particularly on Fridays. There are small mats, maybe 3 x 4 feet, some made of heavy woven fabric, some of a straw weave, or light rugs. The ritual is several minutes of stand, kneel, bow, touch forehead to the ground, all done in a methodical, pious, private way.

DUST
The school where I go has a library that was sad to visit. It is a room maybe 50 x 50 feet. One wall has a few shelves with reference books. There are 8 - 10 conference tables stacked high with books, mostly duplicates of the same title. There are no chairs but a thick layer of dust on everything. To keep out dust rooms would be less open and airy, so hot and dark. It was sad to think of the libraries in US schools and communities and how much we take them for granted.

For a couple of days I put off washing my hair waiting for both electricity and water to function well on the same day. I opted for electricity and so-so water. It sputtered from dribble to trickle, but my hair is short enough to have gotten clean anyway.

There was one day of minutes of drizzle. Otherwise it is dry. Now scooter-taxi drivers are wearing dust masks as it is getting more dusty.

MOONLIGHTING
Like other developing countries, many have multiple jobs. Teachers in the school system may teach in other programs, partake in family business, do some consulting, translate for courts, or a variety of other paid employment. The pay for teachers is no better than other countries, but there is wonderful respect for teaching, especially with children.


Advertisement



21st November 2009

Patience, Religion, Dust
As I read your blog, I came to understand more fully how much we are all alike no matter where we are in politics, religion, and the desire to define ourselves within our self imposed culture. Since we come from the same ONENESS that is understandable. I applaude you for your undertaking; it is obviously your mission from God, I am sure that you are learning much about your self, and I am learning through you what appears to be of most importance to me. Thank you for your blogs; since I am already contemplating my moves in 2012, I now know that the time is now to discover my true priorities. I remember that the cities outside of Dakar are even more dusty that the capital. At the end of my trip to the Gambia and Banjul; my attire did not look anything like it did when I left Dakar!!:) God speed and Namaste...
26th November 2009

When I came I knew I would learn this lesson again, with some new twists. Loving that it keeps on happening.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb