Scuba Diving and Soccer in Dakar


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
June 11th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Soccer in SenegalSoccer in SenegalSoccer in Senegal

0-0... what do you expect from the world's dullest sport...
Well scuba diving went well, despite starting off by putting my wetsuit on backwards. The rest went OK, although for the first thirty seconds or so I thought “there’s no way I can do this”, which surprised me. But I got over it quickly and eager to become competent. I think the initial thing is getting over the idea of breathing while underwater, which just seems wrong.

After diving, I went to see Kyromi and Eri for the last time (maybe) at the house they’re staying at (Salif’s). After getting caught in a post wrestling match celebration I went to Salif’s and had a chicken and couscous family meal. Afterward we went to visit a wedding party so we could show the groom pictures of his own wedding (which he missed --- WTF?). Everyone is very, very hospitable.

This morning I got medical clearance to proceed with my diving qualifications.

Later -

Diving is progressing well. The exercises seem quite well so far, for the most part, although the instructor seems more interested in getting me through rather than getting eight dives in. Oh well, I guess I’ll be good to go to the Casamanche by Friday.
Post-wrestling celebrations!Post-wrestling celebrations!Post-wrestling celebrations!

They love their wrestling here!


I was treated to a soccer match, which is very generous even if it was only 500 CFA. Too bad the game between “Les Bours” and the Giraffes was 0-0. Why is soccer so lame? At least the Bours fans were entertaining. After I saw a guy wearing a Osama Bin Laden t-shirt!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb