The three Ts


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
November 30th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Quick up date:

I've been a busy little bee these last few weeks. Last weekend I headed off to Touba Dialao with some friends. Touba Dialao is a touristy little beach town about 45 minutes outside of Dakar (three and a half hours with the unavoidable and horrendous traffic). We split out time between chatting on in the lovely terrace restaurant of our hotel and splashing in the waves on the rocky beach. We also watched some traditional Senegalese dance lessons given to a couple of "toubabs", or foreigners. I must comment on the hotel itself before I move on: the place was incredible. The entire sprawling construction was made of sea shells and perched upon a cliff over looking the ocean. Breath taking. Photos compliments of Val Ng!

Thanksgiving was lovely. ACI hosted a potluck supper which attracted a collections of Americans, Senegalese, Swedes, and Englishmen- quite mondial 😊 I contributed a green bean casserole and a batch of white gravy, both of which enjoyed rave reviews. I was quite proud of myself seeing as how I slaved away over a propane tank with a range top to make both from scratch.

Yesterday I visited the Mouride- the most popular Muslim brotherhood in Senegal- holy city of Touba. We visited a very well equipped center of higher islamic education as well as the great mosque- which was really incredible. I wont publish some of my more private opinions of my visit here but if you have questions feel free to ask.




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



30th November 2008

Sounds awesome Erin!!!
1st December 2008

Seashell Hotel
Your pictures were beautiful!!! Can't wait to talk to you in person about this trip. Enjoy!! Sounds like you have a great Thanksgiving too. LOL

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb