All my bags are packed....


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Cape Verde Peninsula » Dakar
December 15th 2006
Published: December 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm ready to go...

except not really. so i leave on saturday night at approximately 3 am on the South African flight to JFK international airport. I can't believe I've spent close to 15 weeks in Senegal, and what's more unbelieveable, that those 15 weeks are practically over. I've met some incredible people, and I would like to say that I'll for sure be back, but that is an impossible thing to promise. People come and go in your life, but this is the first time that I've had to say bye to people I've come to consider close family and friends without ever knowing if i'll see them again. There is, of course, the internet and phone, and I hope we stay in touch, but you just always never know... whoever told me leaving your semester abroad is harder than starting it in the first place did not know how right they are.

i have definitely had my share of frustrations while I've lived here, i'm sure several of them have been relayed to you all through these blogs: the language barrier, the fickle electricity, the crazy taxi drivers, the overwhelming heat, the lack of motivation, the traffic, the pollution, the barganing, learning to be a toubaab...just to name of few.

but even some of those frustrations are representative of the city that has become a home away from home, and i will none the less miss them: speaking wolof; bargaining for everything -- even taxis; boutiques that are on every corner that sell everything you could possibly need in single serving quantities; the car rapides that could run you over without batting an eye, but are so entertaining to watch and to ride in; the random power outages that keep life interesting; the men who walk up and down the street and weave in and out of traffic selling everything from phone cards and cds to cashews and bags of apples, so that you never even have to leave your car to get what you want; the ladies that work cash registers at grocery stores who flat out refuse to take a 10,000 cfa bill (about $20) because they don't want to give you change even though they clearly have it; and above all i will miss my amazing family and friends who have helped me along the way.

i don't like to say goodbye, so instead we will say, "a la prochaine, inshallah" -- "until the next time, god willing"....



ps: once i'm in the states i will finally post my pictures!

Advertisement



15th December 2006

i know just what you are feeling i just talked to a friend from back "home" yesterday, and was nostalgic once again but on da happy side whoohooo its 6 am im packing and leaving for ze OC and den home on the 18th whoohoo im soooo excited to see you! xoxo safe and happy travels

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb