musings, photos. the Jackal stole xmas, etc.


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
December 13th 2008
Published: December 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

treetop tent platformtreetop tent platformtreetop tent platform

Remember the earlier blog where i mentioned sleeping in the tree?, this is not how it was done. This was much safer.
In Zambia I ate dried caterpillar much to the surprise of a local. She was flabbergasted and just kept saying that muzungus (foreigners) don't eat this. I had to disagree. I will say however that this foreigner won't be eating more.

I had a pretty passive aggressive maid decide to clean around me the other day. I was in a smallish loft, about 2x3 meters, with a great view for my morning exercise. She could see me there before climbing the ladder but decided to come up anyway. I did my best to ignore her but found it too funny when as I lay on my back with my feet overhead she mopped the floor right under my ass.

I had not much time left to enjoy much of South Africa nor Lesotho, and had to make a choice between bussing it or flying from Windhoek, Namibia to Johannesburg, SA. The bus would have been a 24 hour ordeal and the plane ride was less than 2 hours. The price was the same!! So it came down to the assache factor, so i chose .......................................... de plane of course!

My sincerest apologies for the lack of presents being
No room for errorsNo room for errorsNo room for errors

don't roll over in sleep. don't pee in night. to the front was my entry. you are looking down the stairs, watch your head. can't afford to knock oneself out up here.
sent out. You'll understand once you have seen the photos of my jackal destroyed tent.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

quick run from elephant at campsitequick run from elephant at campsite
quick run from elephant at campsite

what about the photo taker? you say. no worries, she was ok!
luxury lodgeluxury lodge
luxury lodge

i stayed in luxury one night in the area of Chobe National Park, Botswana where even the fauna luxuriated.
one night of luxuryone night of luxury
one night of luxury

en suite. tv with all of 4 channels. i froze the room with the air con.
trying to turn my frown upside down.trying to turn my frown upside down.
trying to turn my frown upside down.

i thought i might be frowning a bit and i took a photo to see if i was correct. not bad, not bad, pretty neutral look if i do say so myself.
Divundu, Namibia "treehouse"Divundu, Namibia "treehouse"
Divundu, Namibia "treehouse"

I could get used to this life of luxury!
the lavatorythe lavatory
the lavatory

loo is given a little more privacy, around the bend.
best to leave the walls rolled up all nightbest to leave the walls rolled up all night
best to leave the walls rolled up all night

It's best to leave the walls rolled up all night, then wake up to sunrise at feet.
view to a looview to a loo
view to a loo

can't a guy get some privacy?
Naukluft Park, NamibiaNaukluft Park, Namibia
Naukluft Park, Namibia

on the way to Sossusvlei.
andy, me, mariaandy, me, maria
andy, me, maria

we shared a hire car to visit Sossuvlei.
the Jackal that stole xmasthe Jackal that stole xmas
the Jackal that stole xmas

I finally bought some xmas gifts and this is what happens. the door was open, so why oh why did you rip it up mr. jackal? he must have thought the package was food, ha the jokes on you! SO NO XMAS PRESENTS THIS YEAR!
entry or exit?entry or exit?
entry or exit?

Attack of the Jackal, where is my superhero? A jackal ripped up my tent and stole a bag of gifts thinking it food. At least it was the last 5 days of my trip rather than the first 5.
exit or entry?exit or entry?
exit or entry?

forever a mystery.
lionslions
lions

3 of them. two treated us to quite a show. playing in the rain and fake attacking each other.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb