Holiday time


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
August 18th 2007
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am officially on "holiday." This is the time I find it really great being a teacher - they really do get great time off 😉

So, I am in Windhoek hanging out with some friends, going to a braii tonight (bar-b-q) and then heading down south tomorrow. Should be fun!

So last week...

Went to that town Omaruru to visit a friend of mine and was a guest judge in the beauty contest there. These beauty pageants are something else. The people in the community get so involved with it and it is really important to them. Needless to say, I have mixed feelings about these young girls parading around in their underware, as these older men are staring at them. But, all in all, it was interesting and funny... (Sorry no pics, it was the first time I forgot to bring extra batteries along.) You should see how these girls shake their bodies and hips when they are dancing! Anyway, when we picked the winner of the Junior beauty pageant (there was a junior and a senior category) the girl started to cry hysterically! I actually felt bad for her.

So then I was back at my friends house and we watched all of these "African Movies." They are these low budget films made in Nigeria where my friend told me they are speaking English but I couldn't make out a word of it. It was fun just to watch some movies though...

Then this past week we were at school finishing up with their final exams and marking them. I find it interesting that starting in Grade 5 here, they take final exams that count for 50% of their grades for the term and in the last term, the final exam counts for 50% of their promotional grade...big emphasis on exams here.

Sorry I couldn't write some of you back this week from my personal e-mails...this connection is terribly slow...and I just don't have the patience...I'll have more time next week and hopefully a better connection!


Advertisement



19th August 2007

Little Miss Sunshine
What happens to the winners of these contests?
22nd August 2007

time goes by so fast
i love hearing your stories! you say you only have 4 months left... thats soooo crazy! i remember meeting with you at ben and irvs not so long ago (obviously over a year ago though) and you telling me about your upcoming african adventures. wow... how time flies! miss you and can't wait to see you and catch up when you get home. also... you wrote about writing people back... is there an email address i can send you fun stuff to? let us know in your next blog. miss you lots! love, nikki

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb