Now the real journey begins...


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
January 12th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Getting ready...Getting ready...Getting ready...

Mom and me getting ready...holding up the t-shirts I gave to my host family...they loved them!
Well, today is my last day in Windhoek and we are officially done with training! Yay! It was very helpful but very exhausting! Yesterday was a good day...we had a speaker in the morning on "teaching with rubbish" which was cool because I now know how to play checkers and bingo with cardboards and bottle caps! Then we broke up in groups and my group went to an HIV/AIDS clinic and got to see the process of a drop-in client. Very interesting!

Tomorrow we are all going our separate ways throughout Namibia and this is where the real challenge begins...

I met with our field director today and she gave me more info. about my school and principal. She said the prinicipal is very energetic and very excited to have a World Teach volunteer teacher at her school that she actually rubs it in the other principal's noses, so that should be interesting. She said my school has a lot of school spirit and they are one of the more progressive schools in Namibia. I was told that I will be teaching computers to all the teachers considering that 10 computers were recently donated and NO ONE knows how
Sign outside the schoolSign outside the schoolSign outside the school

This is the sign about HIV/AIDS out side the school where we did our practice teaching
to use them...so this should be interesting since I am so good at computers?!?!

Anyway I finally found an internet connection where I can upload pictures although it is painfully slow so I couldn't upload as many as I wanted because we are going to a "braii" (bar-b-q) tonight for our last night but I wanted you all to see a little of what I have seen!

I am not sure when I will be able to write next but keep the e-mails and posts coming..they're great!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My classMy class
My class

These were some of our little angels ;)
My Host FamilyMy Host Family
My Host Family

My Host "Mom" Susanna and Host "brother" Dmitri (who was the cutest thing in the world!)
The "Kombe"The "Kombe"
The "Kombe"

This is the old van (or Kombe) that we have been carted around in and it keeps breaking down and we end up walking in like 100 degree weather!


12th January 2007

Looks amazing
Jessi, I am living vicariously through you. What an amazing time...You have to find the I love Namibia T-shirts now!
12th January 2007

Me again
Of course I can't not write a note and tell you how proud I am of what you're doing. Too bad about the slow computer connection but you are, after all, in the Third World. Or maybe the Fifth World? Love the sign about condoms -- hope they can read. Now you can encourage healthy prenatal nutrition so when I go on my nursing trips there won't be so many babies with cleft lips and palates. You go, girl! L, J
12th January 2007

How Exciting!
It is great to hear that you are doing such wonderful things. Congratulations on becoming licensed! Take Care and enjoy your adventures!
12th January 2007

I hope you got my email from earlier this week. I did not post as a comment. Hopefully you did !!! Love these pictures...they are mind-opening. Every blog I receive from you... I brag about your accomplishments and adventures to my office. Keep them coming!!! xoxoxoxoxox
13th January 2007

Amazing
We are really enjoying your commentary! Hope you get off to a good start at the new school. love Kate and Ron
13th January 2007

Keep them Coming!
Hey Jess - I LOVE your updates and I am so excited for you. The kids and teachers will love you and your positive energy. Good luck and have fun! Love, Mag
13th January 2007

Get the Van to Vineland
Hi Jess, You should get the van to Vineland and see if Herb can spruce it up for you!(Just kidding). Your travel looks great. Very exciting. We are all watching and thinking about you. When you can please continue to keep us with you, you are always with us!
14th January 2007

wow Jesse it looks amazing
I am so proud of you and how you r following your dream , I also feelso lucky to be able to share some of it with , keep these blogs coming and please take good care of yourself, you are a very important part of our extended family and we love you.Hope yo hear fro m you soon Love Lynne
16th January 2007

WOW!
wow jess... you are just amazing!!!! keep sending pics... i love them!
16th January 2007

Hey don't know if i'm doing this right
Hey wow, I'm so proud of you... you are really getting to do what you wanted... the pixs are awesome...
16th January 2007

Fascinating journey
Love the pics! They really help tell your story and bring all the experiences to life. Can't wait to hear more about the school you are in, the kids in your classroom, and how the mosquito nets are working out. Lots of luck with everything!
16th January 2007

how do you say hello and welcome?
Hi honey! Now that you are teaching them English, are they teaching you as well? I am sure you will learn so much from these people, their culture, their beliefs, their language. Again, you are all so fortunate. Now, for the "mother" part....drink lots and lots of water in that heat! :-) Weather here is finally getting colder. Actually feels like winter. Keep sending your blog. It's wonderful to hear what you are doing. Before you know it, it will be spring, and you will be an aunt a second and third time!! I have two grand-dogs. One is Alyssa's and the other is David's daughter's , Marci. One day, hopefully , I will be a REAL grandma. Not worried...for now.:-) My dog, Snickers goes to "Doggy Day Care." She brings home report cards, and magnets with her paw prints for the fridge. Yes, I am serious. It is too funny. She goes and plays with doggies all day, one day a week, and they certainly do some strange things. She comes home exhausted and sleeps for 2 days. Usually, she is wet from rain or slobber, and smelly. I am trying to get her into a class or private training to be a "pet therapy dog." This way, we can go to nursing homes, and hospitals and be a working dog. It will be good for both of us. Anyway, be well, be happy. Love, Michelle Oh well, that's my life for now.
1st February 2007

Hey Ms Jessica!
It's great to hear and see what you're up to there. This is quite an adventure and it sounds like you're doing Great! As you may know I live vicariously through people like you - so keep the pictures coming! Tina
11th February 2007

WOW
Jessi...what can I say??? I just found out that you were doing this amazing thing and I am so proud of you! What you are doing is so amazing! I love reading these blogs when they come in. I wanted to send my love to you from myself and my family. Enjoy every minute, take lots of pictures, and keep writing!!! (I'll keep writing too :-) xoxo, Melissa

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb