10k run and fun day with the Grade 5's


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Swakopmund
October 20th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Start Line/Finish LineStart Line/Finish LineStart Line/Finish Line

The 10 K had the same start and finish. These were 2 kids my friend brought from her school to run in the race as Junior runners. I wish I would have thought of that...oh well
Hi!

So I am writing this from the nice, cool, breezy Swakopmund where I just finished a 10k this morning. It was really fun and definitely easier than running the marathon they have here (I say that like I was actually contemplating running it, which I wasn't at all!) . It was a beautiful run though...one side were the dunes and the other side was the ocean. I came in just at an hour which was good for me. I actually paced myself really well, and had a lot of energy at the end...maybe my next race could be a 1/2 marathon...we'll see!

So just a few differences b/w Namibian races and races back in the US:

1) There were only about 100 runners in the marathon and about 40 people in the 10k so we had plenty of room and were definitely not tripping over people.

2) A lot of runners don't wear shoes. I don't really get this one, and I knew all the kids I run with back in my town don't run with shoes, but I thought for a 10k or a marathon, everyone would be wearing shoes, but no...and the kids that ran with shoes, told me afterwards that they wish they didn't wear them because they can run faster without them! Go figure!

3) They gave coke as the drink along the race! Oh, this was funny...I laughed when I tasted it and thought it was an energy drink or something...


So last weekend, I had a fun day with my Grade 5's...and by fun day, I am talking about picking up trash 😉 Ever since I took the Grade 7's hiking a few months back, my grade 5's kept asking me to do a field trip too. So, I thought about it and didn't want them to spend money since a lot of them don't have any to spend...and I am all about doing things outside and cheap to show them you don't need a lot of $ to do things, so we picked up trash! I decided to make a competition out of it and they loved it...it's amazing how attention-starved some of these kids are that they just love doing anything organized and away from their homes for a day. I think it helped that I baked a cake for them afterwards and let them play with the hose at my hostel to cool down...it was fun!

So next weekend, is our end of service where all the volunteers are getting together to debrief the year...crazy!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My friend JoshMy friend Josh
My friend Josh

He ran the marathon...phew!
The groupThe group
The group

So out of 52 Grade 5 Learners...40 came...pretty good!
Goegene and ShadrickGoegene and Shadrick
Goegene and Shadrick

These were the winners


20th October 2007

You've done it again!
Loved this one, and impressed at your 10k, even if it's not a marathon. You're really getting entrenched -- I hope leaving won't be tough for you. Keep on keeping on! L, J
22nd October 2007

time flies!
wow! i can't believe you are done in a week!!!!! i'm going to miss your blogs and amazing pictures... but i can't wait to get together when you get home!!!! xoxo

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb