Wow - again!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Swakopmund
January 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I take back all the negative comments I have made about quad bikes. We had such fun last night on the dunes.

There were just the three of us in the group, we were lad by a very gentle guide. The instruction to not think of the steering as like a bike was difficult to adopt at first, so I likened it in my mind to pushing a supermarket trolley that wasn't steering true. The revving was similar to my 2CV - pied au planchet if you wan tto get up the hills!!

We started by gently following the guide up and down gentle slopes, concentration was the important word at this point. As we progressd he took us up steeper slopes which was not too traumatic, then we started going down the steep sides of the dunes. At one point I thought rather fondly of the safety rope on the river rafting and felt I needed one at this stage because it felt as if I was going to fall off head first. However, I stayed on, just letting the bike go down at its own speed, but started to enjoy it all and even accelerated down the slopes! The double slope caught me unawares but ohhh, it was such fun! Feeling the wind blow the sand in your face, seeing sand dunes that were completely clear of previous tracks was a treat and being able to zoom around - wow!!
We had a sundowner drink on the top of the highest dune looking down over the Atlantic Ocean. The colours of the sand were fabulous and I htink we all want to do it again!

Advertisement



13th January 2007

The Dunes
I can just picture it. I'm sure it was beautiful.
14th January 2007

Adrenalin Rules OK?
Getting more exciting by the day!! Good to sense your excitement at these new experiences Lizzie-P, all sounds really memorable. Nearly as good as teaching at school?? Love, John

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb