Only a couple of days later.


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Rundu
February 15th 2013
Published: February 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello, Everyone,

Now that I have access to Mr. Lee's wireless, I'm feeling reckless. Ours is all installed now, but somehow not yet turned on or something. We'll have to go to the school to use it, however, because the booster is way down on their list.

Some bigwigs from Windhoek were here yesterday. About three or four of them have heard about our refrigerator, but no one seems to actually do anything about it. We are hoping to have it before St. Patrick's Day, because we want to corn our own beef and have corned beef and cabbage. Rachel's dad's family is very Irish (living in Wiscosin!) Rachel is my roommate, if you haven't kept up. We are both on WorldTeach.

A VERY interesting thing is taking place tomorrow. Some history first: the first day we arrived, late Thursday evening, we heard a girl screaming and crying all night. The Friday they took her to the hospital and she died that day or the next. She had complained of chest pains, but I have not heard if they figured out what actually was wrong. The following week, on Saturday, we went with all the teachers and many students to the burial. It was a Roman Catholic service, but in Thimbukushu, so although I could tell where we were, approximately in the service, I could not understand a word. Anyway, it was interesting. The ministry of education paid for the funeral and the feast afterward, because her mother is very poor. Our school is for orphans and vulnerable children. In the church, I sat way in the back with the nursing mothers and old women. (Speaking of old, I get to use the senior citizen line in the bank).

I am wandering. After the death, several more people had to go to the hospital. We have had several severe asthma attacks. Fortunately, there is a good hospital fairly close to us. But apparently in some of the villages, a rumor has begun that there is a witch living in one of the hostels. Apparently it is not a good thing that they are saying that, so the Inspector (a neat lady named Ms. Eises) arranged with a priest to come in tomorrow morning for a blessing of the school. I know new homes get blessed, but I have a sneaking suspicion this is an exorcism. I'll let you know.

Not much else has happened in two days. We gave a test yesterday in grade 11 English, so lots of paper correcting to do over the weekend. Occasionally I remember why I retired.

Today the kids were giving speeches they had prepared. Our principal talks a lot about behavior and studying and gets quite into it. So we decided the learners should pretend they were the principal of a school, and at the opening assembly they had to give a speech about the importance of education. Some of them were quite funny. They are here, so they know about the importance, and they put up so politely with being nagged. But one boy today began by welcoming everyone, introducing himself, then starting out about how he wanted to talk about the importance of education. It is important because you can get a good job and get rich. Then he started showing of his "very expensive shoes, and his nice suit..." They just got their school uniforms two days ago, so they do look pretty spiffy, but it was pretty funny. Apparently many Namibians who give speeches start getting off track and talking that way. Another boy sounded so like our principal, that I decided I need to teach them the expression "channeling someone." Another boy introduced himself as "Dr. Noggleboggleboggle" or something like that. The whole class just cracked up and he kept such a straight face. The minister of education was Dr. Ebu (Ebu is a famous Botswanan comedian). There were others, too, but I didn't get all the references. Tomorrow evening we are having a debate (for entertainment), but it should be very entertaining. It's amazing how much better their spoken English is than their written English. I love doing speaking assignments.

I don't know if this showed up in any news. I was hoping to hear that President Obama had sent condolences. The minister of education Dr. Abraham Iyambo, died about 10 days ago. Apparently he was quit beloved, and he was the one pushing "learner centered" education. I am curious what will happen with out him there. The deputy minister is quite different, I gather, so my teacher friends are hoping he won't take over. I don't really know, but there were lots of articles about Dr. Iyambo in the papers. I wish I coulod have met him. I think the President, Pohamba, is coming here at some time to officially open the school. I am sort of excited that I might meet him.

All for now. I spent the afternoon looking at pictures of Mia on my iphone. I took her to the Imaginarium not long before I left, and got lots of video on my phone. Obviously, I miss her. There were 204 pictures and videos, mostly of Mia! Do, please, keep in touch. I'll be able to do it better now.

Love to all,

Wendy

Advertisement



15th February 2013

I don\'t know which to think of as the more opulent, the many and varied events going on around you, or the way you get it all together in prose -- complete and colorful without fanfare. It sure seemed otherwise to me when you wrote \"Not much else has happened in two days\"; and that was only a little way into your posting. I hope you enjoyed a Happy Valentine\'s Day!
18th February 2013

Glad to know you are well
Wendy, We passed your blog address out to P.E.O. Chapter C members. I think I can speak for all of us by saying that your work is very exciting and that we are proud of you. We all wish you well in your endeavors!!
22nd February 2013

Always excited for you. You're a living "National Geographic" program. Love it.
12th March 2013

From AK to Namibia
Sorry to hear about the loss of a good education minister. ASD's latest superintendent, Jim Browder, has Announced that he will not finish his contract. Has applied for jobs elsewhere. Quite a debate going on about that!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb