Cheetah Park


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Cheetah Park
August 7th 2009
Published: August 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Playing with a babyPlaying with a babyPlaying with a baby

This cub is 3.5 months old
We visited this place called Cheetah Park, located in the middle of Namibia. This place is a family farm that has cheetahs and other animals. The house pets are 2 adult cheetah, one baby cheetah, 4 dogs and a giraffe. We were only there for one night but it was an evening not to forget. We went to the main house to pet and play with the cheetahs. I was scratched by one that was more playful. I really hope that it scars because then I can say that I have a scar from a cheetah! The baby was really cute, very playful with me as you can see. She was also very playful with the Jack Russell of the house.

We also went to see the wild cheetahs fed. It was not as cool as the lion feeding but it was still an experience to be surrounded by 10 adult cheetahs all wanting the nasty meat that was on the truck right next to me.

The coolest part about cheetahs that you never hear about is the way the sound. The noises they make sound just like a lot of noises that our house pets make. They purr, the make sweet little meows, they hiss the same way. I never heard one growl, and our tent was set up right next to the cheetah enclosure. It was really cool to learn this.

We left early in the day but not before we were able to stop and feed the 2 year old giraffe some apples. The apples were all that I had even though the giraffe was hoping for candy. At first she wouldn't take the apple from me, she just drooled all over me!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The nice adult cheetahThe nice adult cheetah
The nice adult cheetah

You are allowed to pet the head and behind the ears. These cats purr just like house cats when you pet the right spots.
The playful adult cheetahThe playful adult cheetah
The playful adult cheetah

Hopefully I get the scar from her!
Apples not candyApples not candy
Apples not candy

At first, I had to shove the apple into her mouth to get her to eat it.


12th January 2010

Thanks
I am very happy waching your photos, Thanku very mach..........

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb