Vilanculos


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique
March 17th 2006
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Where are the roads?Where are the roads?Where are the roads?

Vicky, Charlotte and I piled into the small back seats of the pick up truck driven by two English doctors (husband and wife) who were nice enough to drive us north to Vilanculos.
We left in the early morning with the two English doctors (who were working in Zambia) in their pick-up truck. I had envisioned riding in the back of the truck with the sun on my face and the wind in my hair. Instead, Charlotte, Vicky and I were squisshed into the small back seat of the pick up....where we sat for the 12 hours it took to reach Vilanculos.

The roads to reach Vilanculos were mostly under construction which meant we had to navigate through mud on the side of the construction. I was sooooo happy we did not have to take public transportation as I am sure it would have taken a few days to reach Vilanculos.

Vicky, Charlotte and I found out way to Baobab Backpackers where I found my Amex card waiting for me (YES!!). I soon found out my Visa would be at the local airport waiting for me in the afternoon the next day.

So, the following day, the girls and I tried to arrange a boat trip to see the islands of the area but our plans got all messed up. I sensed something was wrong with our 'boat guides' so I
Tight FitTight FitTight Fit

12 hours in this position....ah, the joys of traveling.
bailed on the plans but the girls remained. I spent the morning reading before going to airport to get my visa card (I hired a boy on motorbike to take me to the airport for few dollars). I then walked around town, watch a girls handball game, and then had dinner with the girls where the told me about their horrible day with the boat guide: it started with Charlotte's camera getting stollen as they waited for the boat, and then during the boat ride itself, the local guides hit on the girls the entire time. In all, they did not even make it out to the islands. Lesson learned: always follow your intuition.

The one interesting fact about Vilanculos was how far the water went out during low tide.....all I could see from shore to the horizon was sand!

After their horrible boat trip, the girls were all to happy to leave Vilanculos and get to Malawi. We had planned for the English couple to pick us up and give us a ride for long trek to Tete (which would serve as our layover before we hit the border of Malawi).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Water is all goneWater is all gone
Water is all gone

In Vilanculos, the tide retreats very far out to the ocean when it is low tide...thus the boats get beached until the tide returns.
Beach SceneBeach Scene
Beach Scene

If you look over my left shoulder, you will see a boat full of people...just like with minibuses, the over crowd boats to take people to the near by islands.


Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 35; qc: 167; dbt: 0.1425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb