I think I would be a Knife


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique
June 7th 2008
Published: June 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So a few weeks ago, my mother sent me a package in the mail, and enclosed was a set of silverware, which I had requested. Four spoons, four forks, and yes, four knives. I had requested that she send these because the silverware that I had bought here in the 'Bique was apparently not engineered to withstand the frequency with which I eat. My mother's package came just in time. The silverware set she set me was actually quite nice; nicer than anything I would have picked out for myself, which I guess is just proof of a mothers love. Anyway, I took the silverware back to my home, and I have been using it ever since, without problems. But I started thinking the other day, I wonder what the silverware thinks about being here with me in Mozambique, you know? I mean, it seems an obvious question to ask. Like I said, the silverware is pretty nice. I bet it was sitting on some nice display in Macy's without a bunch of other pretty nice silverware sets, bragging about how it was going to end up in a nice middle class home with a family or 4 or 5, and live the good life, sinking their teeth into steak, and being washed and cleaned in a dishwasher. But instead, because I exist, this particular set ended up with me, here in Mozambique, where it is used to eat sphagetti topped with catsup, and is washed in a small bucket of well water. I started thinking, you know, the life of this silverware is a lot like my life. When I was in high school, or even early college, I could never have imagined that I would be living a life in the 'Bique, like I am today. It just really made clear the similarities between humans and silverware. Also, both me and the silverware still look shiney and new. I think that just kind of says it all, doesn't it. I think that if the Grand Canyon were as deep as all that above, it would be a lot prettier.

Right, so I am going to structure this blog entry a little differently. I have three themes I want to touch on, but all are so different, it doesn't seem like one blog entry is enough to hold all that I have to offer. Therefore, I will make three separate blog entries today. Also, I think people get intimidated when they see a blog entry that is ridiculously long, and then they don't end up reading anything, so maybe this format will trick people into becoming engrossed in all that I have to say. This section will be titled, News and Notes, just some updates on what is happening here, what has been going on. The next entry will be titled, NGO Soapbox, where I will talk a little about my job and how it is being affected by the developement of the NGO industry in this country. The last entry will be referred to as A Christmas Story. Hold on, wait just a second...uh huh...uh huh...really?...sorry, I didn't know. Ok, my editor tells me that that title is already in use, so we can just call it Christmas Memory, which will be a short story of a memory I had recently of Christmas at my house back in the United States of America. Here we go.

If you were able to see some of the pictures that i posted a couple weeks ago, you most likely will have been able to deduce that I spent some time in Cape Town South Africa with a pretty Canadian. It was my first time off since arriving in Mozambique in September, and my first time in an African country other than Mozambique. Although I did not puke all over myself when I first saw tons of showers, flushing toilets, traffic lights, trains, and large grocery stores, I must say that it did take a couple days before it felt comfortable again. The same goes for that pretty Canadian; although I did not puke all over her when I first saw her, I did take a few days before I felt comfortable again with a person who I have spent a significant amount of time with over the last three years, although it turned out to be very enjoyable. I guess it just is a reminder that I really have only been gone a few months, and that even though it seems like a lifetime because of all that I have been learning, it doesn't erase 23 years of living in an American society, or 3 years of hanging out with pretty Canadians. All and all, Cape Town was real good, lots of good outdoorsy stuff to do and lots of good museums to see. Good time off.

I think I have decided to run a marathon in South Africa on November 2. My goal will be to run a time that will qualify me to run the 2010 Boston Marathon, but I guess we will see. The marathon is called the Soweto City Marathon, for anyone who wants to join me. The course is apparently quite tough, and the temperature in November will be noticably warmer than it is now. That, and I have little way of knowing how fast I am running during training, since I don't have a private car handy to go clock out a training route to see how far it is that I am running. Details details. I will not be deturred.

My hair is getting pretty long. If nothing else, Peace Corps give you a great opportunity to push the limits of how ugly you can get. I am doing well now, but I feel like I can do better. I will not be deturred.

My digital camera was either lost or stolen over the last week. Surprise mom and dad! I guess we have something to talk about in our weekly phone conversation tomorrow!

I believe that is all the news and notes that I have. Lets move on.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb