Monday


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Tofo
May 21st 2012
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The big event today was a non-event....nothing on the ocean safari. Two whale sharks have been sighted at Barra Point, so we are going to head that direction tomorrow. Also, four Great Whites have been sighted not far from here, apparently it is unusual to see them in these waters. After my last experience with one I can't say I'm anxious to meet one in open water, the cage was rather helpful last time. Today it rained, and it is cold for the first time since I've been here. Chilly. It will be cold on the water tomorrow. The water temperature has dropped 4 degrees since I've been in Tofo, so winter is coming (Stark words). Rain and wind shut down the power here in Tofo, so we've been without power a few times today.

An observation: The car rideto and from Vilanculas was the first time I’ve really had time to think since I’ve been here. It is always so busy with dives, data entry, ocean safaris, or people in and out, there is no time for reflection. I did have introspective moments during the 8 hour round trip car ride….watching the people on the roads and seeing the villages where they live. People in town do seem to live a bit better, and there is the occasional stucco or brick house, but for the most part, these people have absolutely nothing. Their huts are not as big as our living room, made of palm fronds woven tightly to keep out the rain. Most of their time seems to be spent outside of the huts, under a shade tree, or around a fire cooking. Water is brought from wells. Today is Sunday and there were people all over the roads, in their Sunday clothes, headed from or to church. I feel certain it is a major socializing event, much like the market where they sell goods if they are close enough to town. Their reality is harsh, and their needs simple: survive, feed yourself and your family, have babies, and die young. I’ve heard it is estimated that one in five are HIV positive. I couldn’t survive a week in their world, I feel sure I would die of some infection or virus within that time given the water and unsanitary conditions. One of the million chickens walking around would give me bird flu. It is a lesson in appreciating the things that you do have....running water, electricity, clean water (relatively)....it is disturbing to see how poor the people are here.

I've been giving some of my housemates the MBTI, with interesting results. So far we have an ISTJ, 2 ESFJ's, an INTP (Cooper, your type!), and myself, an INFP. Rather an interesting collection of people. Nothing much has gone on today, so I don't have much to blog about. Hopefully tomorrow I'll post photos of a whale shark...or a humpback whale....or a manta, but hopefully no pics of Great Whites on this trip!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb