A Praia de Tipo Tinto...I mean Tofo


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Tofo
July 18th 2010
Published: September 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 18th - 30th

And so at 6am I was once again crammed into a bus and headed for an unknown place, I knew only that it was a place of nice beaches and scuba diving. At least this time this bus was a bit bigger but luggage was once again on everyone’s laps. The journey was a long one, it took the better part of seven hours to finally reach Praia de Tofu.

It was well worth the journey though, once the bus dropped us off at Fatima’s Nest I knew it was just what I was looking for. The beach stretched forever and I knew that relaxation wouldn’t be an issue. After setting up my tent and getting settled in I met some other travelers. A couple English guys named Eddie and Mike, a Swiss girl named Alexandra and an American girl named Stephanie (if I remember correctly a month and a half later) and a couple Dutch chicas. The first night we all went out for a cheap dinner, I think the total cost was $3 for a big plate of fish, salad and rice. Heaven on a plate in other words!

I could go on and tell you about each of the days I passed in Tofu but it would be hard for me to go through each one day by day. To be honest the days sort of repeated themselves, for the most part. I met many many more people, some names that come to mind and that I spent a lot of time with are Rolando, Rosco, Ria, Jonathan, Aisha, Joyce, Daniel, Tiago, Felipe, Mane, Andres, Stephen, Saskia, Jason, Georgina, and Miguel. They came from all over the world, England, Holland, Brazil, Portugal, Mexico, Argentina, Wales, Colorado, Spain and the list goes on and on.

Like I mentioned earlier the days kinda gelled together and so that’s why the post is for my whole time in Tofu. Each day we would lay together on the beach, play frisbee, futbol, ultimate frisbee, volleyball and swim. In the evenings groups of us would get together and go out to dinner, sometimes in large groups, other times in smaller groups. We would almost always eat at a place called Black and White, a very small restaurant in the back of market area. The food was cheap and delicious but the wait would normally be about an hour, I was okay with this as it was completely worth it. If we didn’t eat at B&W we would go down the block a bit to a place that didn’t have a name but had the same prices as Black and White, I promptly started calling it White and Black.

The nightlife in Tofu was pretty great, typically after dinner we would go hang out in the market area and talk and drink with the local guys. The drink of choice was almost always Tipo Tinto, a rum made in the area. A small 20oz bottle would cost about 45 Meticais, or about $2. We would then spend another $2-3 on cokes and everyone would be dancing an hour later at Dino’s Bar. If we didn’t end up at Dino’s we would be at Fatima’s sitting around and talking, telling jokes and having laughs, occasionally going down to the beach for a beach bon fire. It was an amazing two weeks that I’ll never forget, and a place I will certainly return to.

One of the days I was there, probably four to five days before I left, I finally got the courage and motivation to arrange a scuba dive in the Mozambican Indian Ocean. For forty five dollars I went on a boat dive with about five other people, mostly serious divers that took some serious photography equipment with them underwater. The visibility on the dive wasn’t what I had experienced in Zanzibar a couple months prior but it was still a cool dive. (Even though I made one of the cardinal mistakes of ascending on my own, after thinking that it was okay I could do so). It was my 3rd dive and I was excused, however.

I must say that my two weeks in Tofu was the perfect ending to my Southern African Adventure. Relaxing on the beach and forging friendships that will last forever is something I will cherish the rest of my life. Everytime I look at the photos and videos it brings a smile to my face and I get a tinkle in my eye.

I hope you enjoy the photos and post as much as I did my time in Tofu, but I really seriously doubt it! Until next time, Pura Vida!!

Bons Dias, Boas Noites
Bons Momentos
A Nossa Maneira!
-Brendan



Additional photos below
Photos: 64, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



14th January 2014
28-Monument at Tofinho Beach

beautiful
I live in Tofinho and the pic is ... any way the chain its not there any more

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb