Hotel California


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Tofo
April 25th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"You can check out but you can never leave." (thanks Eagles)

I was sitting around the bar in Tofo the other night chatting with some of the Dive masters and such. I mentioned that I keep seeing people arrive here and never see people leave. She said, "Yes, this is like Hotel California." I agree.

The other song lyric that comes to mind about Tofo is "Stayed here all season, don't know the reason, nothing to show but this brand new tatoo."

That is Tofo. It seems to just suck you in. I've been planning on leaving in a few days for the last week. Still don't know when I'll leave.
Maybe Friday, Saturday or Sunday... or not.

But it has been great.
I've had a blast diving. I actually took my Advanced Diver course. After my first Manta Reef dive I was having so much fun that i decided to stick and dive some more, so I might as well take the course. I actually came running off the dive boat just excited as excited could be.

One of my dives on Manta Reef we were sitting in the sand while 4-5 giant Manta Rays circled overhead. At one point probably no more than a meter above my head.

I'm really enjoying the diving. It is really amazing. And I'm actually not running out of air anymore. My dive instructor paid me a huge compliment on my last course dive. We were doing navigation and I ran low on air. So when I told him he just had this look of surprise, like "YOU-- are low on air." Pretty cool I thought.

I've seen loads of Manta's now and a guitar fish and I have no idea what else. Lots of good stuff. Lots of eels as well.

I've got to dive with some great people as well. Too many to name and I won't try because I'll forget someone in this list.

And we have been having fun and goofing off in and out of the water.
On the safety stop yesterday I was bored so I started dancing and doing the worm. Then I hit my head on the tank. Jon, who is normally very reserved said he couldn't stop laughing. His mask kept filling with water he was laughing so hard.

Here are some other random quotes that we have compiled that have been heard on the dive boats or just around the place (often at 4AM, but you know)

"I got sucked by a remore"

"Sweden has big waves for surfing.... if you are an ant."

" 'beep'... 'did you just beep? Is your battery running dead?'..... (holding head in hands and crying and laughing) 'I'll never beep again'"
(we were actually crying we were laughing so hard at this one. Some guy thought we were stoned)

"Everyone is going to Matuto. It is so much cooler than Maputo"

"That is what that is called. I thought they were dickhead fish."

"Do you want your seat back? No, I just want to shrink."

"Those glasses look really good. They make you look like you are 20"

"These are not the droids you are looking for."

"We are just looking at the stars."

"Come back to my place. I'll clean my teeth and drop you home."

The Worm... done in the sand, in the water, and on the dance floor

"Have you not seen Snatch?"

"Tipto Tinto"

"What is WFR? You can fix bear wounds?"

And I still laugh from all of them.

We decided that the top 2 lies told in Tofo are
"I'm leaving tomorrow"
and
"I'm not drinking tonight."

Its been real

"And Jo saw a whale shark"



Here are some pictures




Advertisement



25th April 2007

hate mail
diving with Mantas... you really do need to stay there because if you come back and i see you i will kill you....:) see.. thats why no one ever leaves...
25th April 2007

Looks like you got cut off...
Here are some.... Manta rays.... I am soo green right now..
25th April 2007

Way to go Iowa!
Sounds like a blast Iowa! What happened with Nicole?
29th April 2007

Leaving tofo sucks
Hey Mike, have you left yet? :) Me and mark got on the bus at 4:30 am still a little drunk, but at least that ment i didnt notice how uncomfortable it was. Back in the UK, and wishing i was back on tofo's white sands. Was a pleasure meeting you, hope you beep again soon. I'll keep track of your travels with intrest. Matt P.s. Im gonna put some photos online in the next couple of days so check out this site when you get chance http://www.matts-photos.fotopic.net/
2nd May 2007

Been totally Tofo'd
hi dude, quotes are too funny ... guess you had to be there, you probably still are!!! I am home in leamington spa, heart broken and too brown to feign illness tot he medical scholl - bugger! Sorry for disappearing on my last night - was kinda busy. Hows your worm????
2nd May 2007

Oh i forgot to mention ..... I SAW A WHALE SHARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb