Whale Sharks


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Tofo
April 19th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I left S. Africa via Swaziland about a week ago.
And then I beelined up to Tofo in Mozambique.

why? The Diving of course.
So far the diving has been great. Well the diving is actually so/so but the snorkeling has been amazing.
After our first time we surfaced to find about 20-30 whale sharks around our boat. For the next hour or so we snorkelled with, around, chased and were followed by whale sharks.
This was totally special and insane. This is just a special, special event.
I can't really explain it. Other than the dive master on our trip was excited and actually the first in the water with the sharks. He was maybe more or as excited as we were.

Whale sharks move pretty slowly as they feed. So you can almost swim with them. Of course you had to pay attention. A few times a would be swimming alongside one and I would suddenly look up to see another one swimming towards me, mouth wide open feeding. It was maybe 3 meters away, if that. I could have reached out and touched these things several times. Sometimes I really felt like they were going to run into me.

It was never really that close. Whale sharks are no danger to humans, they eat plankton.

So all I can say is Atlanta Aquarium hasn't got anything on me now!


Tomorrow I'm going for a deep dive to see manta rays. I'll let you know how that goes.

I really like Mozambique so far. It is a former Portugese colony, so everyone speaks Portugese instead of Ingles. I'm trying my Spanish and it helps some. But I think this might be part of the reason that the place reminds me of Latin America. It is so chill and beautiful.

Well that is all I feel like blogging today. Oh yeah, Mozambique has good beer, which is nice for a change.
I really can't explain the fun of the whale shark experience. It was out of this world.


Some pictures I received after the fact.
Here is a link to Jon's pictures of Whale Sharks and Manta Rays, I hope he doesn't mind me sharing these

Apparently Jon has a whale shark video as well




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd April 2007

You lucky dog!
Two things I would love to see on a dive, whale shark, and manta ray... and you are doing both! Not to mention you got to swim with a school of them.
25th April 2007

no pix?
you went swimming with whale sharks but didn't bring a camera???

Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1133s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb