Casablanca


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
September 18th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

At the Grand MosqueAt the Grand MosqueAt the Grand Mosque

rain be damned
Well, we’ve been in Casablanca for just over 24 hours and our preparing for our final flight to Bamako. For all of the pre-departure hand-wringing over our baggage weight allowance, not a single person questioned us about the number and (tremendous) weight of our bags. I should be grateful. I am not however grateful for the bad weather that we’ve encountered since getting here. Although Paris was predictably cold, the day-long deluge that hit us today in Morocco was surprisingly similar to that which we left in North Carolina (so much for my assumption that it would be months before we would see rain again). Nevertheless, we’re here safely, and despite my extreme tentativeness with the French (sorry, Madame Mennear—I’m sure it will come back), it seems like it won’t take too long to adjust.

Anyway, I’m posting some pictures of the Grand Mosque of Casablanca, which lives up to its name, even in bad weather. We did not make it inside on account of Ramadan, but we’re comforted by the fact that we’ll be able to do so come December. We also managed to twist our way through the labyrinthine lanes of the central market before the rains hit.
Grand MosqueGrand MosqueGrand Mosque

this was truly gigantic
I wanted to get some photos, but the gray skies overheard did not make for a great backdrop. However, seeing the taller buildings of the city rising above the twisting and turning slab of sky that was afforded by the crumbling facades of the old buildings along the narrow canyon-like market passageways was quite surreal. I’m afraid that I could not do it justice with photos (or words, for that matter).

Otherwise, the rest of what we saw of the city was a literal blur, due to a combination of rain, fog, and speed: Not only did out taxi driver engage in the most insane maneuvering that I’ve ever witnessed, going from full throttle to abrupt stops whilst shooting openings I wouldn’t attempt in a vehicle half the size, he did so without the aid of serviceable windshield wipers and defogger. Nora didn’t bat an eye.

Bamako in 7 hours!

Advertisement



19th September 2008

you're alive
You made it! I don't even know where Casablanca is. Where are the pictures? I can't find the pictures! Need pictures! We miss you!!! xoxo Claire

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb