Dades Gorge, Ait Ben Haddou


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Ouarzazate
April 25th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Even after a thorough cleaning last night - albeit with a weak shower - I still had sand everywhere. We made a quick stopover in Dades Gorge. There are rock formations called “monkeys’ fingers” that look more like gorillas’ fingers to me. Our destination today is Ait Ben Haddou, along the Route of 1000 Kasbahs and Ouarzazate, an area for many film productions such as Lawrence of Arabia, Gladiator and Alexander. Apparently a new video game called Prince of Persia also used this area as its backdrop.

Ait Ben Haddou itself is recognized by UNESCO as a World Heritage site. It used to be an important point along the caravan route until the French built the Tizi n'Tichka pass. Most of the families have moved to the other side of the river but six families still live in the Kasbah. It looks just like the pictures I’ve seen and to get to it required crossing a shallow river. I waded across in sandals but donkeys are available for 10 Dh to help you cross both ways. It was particularly windy that day and at the top by the granary I wished I weighed more than I did to not get
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

restaurant in Valley of Roses
blown over. I had what else but tagine again that night. It was vegetarian and very hearty. I highly recommend it!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Ait Ben HaddouAit Ben Haddou
Ait Ben Haddou

granary @ top


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb