A Reminder


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Ouarzazate
December 27th 2005
Published: December 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends and Family,

It came to my attention just before Christmas that Michael Cleary, a member of my graduating class at Hamilton (2003) was killed in action in Iraq last week. Michael was a First Lt. in the Army with a pending promotion to the rank of Captain. In addition to many friends and admirers in the Hamilton community he also had a fianceé whom he was planning to marry this coming February. Although I did not know Mike well I remember him as a kind and intelligent young man with high ideals and strength of character; the type of person I was proud to have graduated with.

His death comes as a reminder to me of what I and my fellow volunteers are trying to achieve: A world where men and women my age or any age will no longer have to place themselves in mortal danger in the defense of peace and democracy. Mike was fighting for the same thing that I am and his passing both wounds me deeply and drives me on toward my goal.

Particularly during this holiday season please take a moment to think about Mike and the sacrifice made by him and his family, and let us all be thankful for and take advantage of the time we have to make this world a more liveable place for future generations.

Happy New Year,
Rich


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb