Final Thoughts....Maybe


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
July 17th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I may have more to write when I get home but I want to get these down while I am still in Morocco.

I just finished my final exam which was divided into two parts, reading comprehension and grammar. It wasn't too hard and I am not too worried about how I did. Overall my satisfaction with AmidEast is mixed. The homestay has been awesome because I have been able to improve my speaking (in modern standard Arabic) ability exponentially. But as for the classes, I found them to be a little disappointing. I don't feel like I have learned all that much from the classes to be honest. We moved at such a high speed that it was difficult to retain any new grammar much less vocab. At home, Prof Blosser would give us like a week or a week and a half to learn a unit. Here we were doing two units in a week. I am glad that I am taking an equvalent semester of Arabic in the fall so I can really learn the stuff that I feel that we skimmed through.

Now to the non-academic thoughts.

Morocco has been a great experience for me. I have never lived outside of America before (I know this has only been a month but still...). Sure a lot of college age kids backpack Europe for the summer but this is a lot different and a lot more intense, or at least it feels like it would be to me. I am not a skilled enough writer to describe everything I have seen in a manner that would let you experience what I have so I am not going to even try. I'll just upload a lot of pictures I guess haha. Well, it has been a good month, but I am really excited to go back to America. Everything here is harder than it is back home and so I have felt really tired at the end of each day, it will be nice to relax at home where everything is handed to us again. Oh and it will be nice to be able to speak English to everyone. And to have sane drivers (you may think drivers in America are nuts but trust me they really aren't). And cars who don't park on the sidewalks. And police who actually do their jobs. This list will go on for a while so I'm gonna stop now. Cya.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb