The Saga of the Sheep: Part Two


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
July 6th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I got back from Asilah at around 8 pm on Saturday night (4th of July) and as I got close to the apartment I heard really loud music. When I got to the apartment building entrance I noticed that a large truck was parked right up to the door and there were men in uniforms scrambling around carrying things up the stairs. As I made my way past them I was eyed cautiously because they were probably wondering "Who the hell is this French tourist crashing this family's party." I say French because in Morocco if you are white they assume you are French and will speak French to you.

Anyways, as I climbed the stairs the music got even louder and I finally reached the enclosed patio and looked in to see around 50 or 60 women sitting at tables eating or dancing to live music. I turned the other way and went into the apartment to find the men sitting around talking and drinking tea. I met one of my host dad's brothers who has lived in Arlington Virginia for the past ten years so it was really nice to speak fluent English to someone.

We (the men) ate a really good dinner, sheep and chicken and couscous, in the sitting room while the women at on the patio. The daughter and the grandson were then put in a metal bowl with handles and were hoisted into the air by men who then sort of danced while holding it.

It was a really cool party overall and the separation of the men and women sounds a lot more strict than it was, I mean, we ate separately but men and women were dancing together on the patio together.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb