First Official Adventure


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
June 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This post picks up from where the last one left off.

So Jess went to have tea with a Moroccan family and Sara and I decided to take a cab to her neighborhood so she could figure out exactly where it was. After riding from Agdal to Hassan and walking around for a bit we found her house.

She went inside and I continued to explore the area on my own. I walked to the Hassan Tower and took some pictures, spoke Arabic to horse mounted guards, and just wandered around aimlessly. Me, Sara, and Jess (from now on will be abbreviated MSJ) had decided to meet at 5pm at Bab al-Had, a big traffic circle just to the south of the Medina. At around 4pm I called Sara and asked if she wanted to walk around beforehand. We met at Hassan Tower and then proceeded to Hassan II Boulevard and began the long walk to Bab al-Had.

At 5pm Jess met us there and we went into the Medina. After exploring the Medina for an hour or so we got freshly squeezed orange juice from a vendor and then walked around the Kasbah, which is like an enclosed old neighborhood right on the water. We then went back to Hassan II Boulevard and walked south towards Bab al-Had. While walking we saw a big workers protest, I got some pictures and a video.

We then decided to try to get some dinner so we took a cab to Agdal, the neighborhood to the south of Bab al-Had (by a mile or two) where AmidEast is located. On the way there I spoke to our driver in MSA and explained to him why we were in Rabat and who AmidEast is. He was really impressed and he said that I have a good vocabulary and pronunciation. It made my day.

Once we got to Agdal we asked someone at AmidEast for advice on where to eat, they recommended a fancy Moroccan place. When we took another cab there we saw that it was kind of expensive (in Dirhams, in dollars it would be cheap) and had burgers instead across the street haha. The burgers and fries were REALLY good and hit the spot after 5 hours of walking.

We then shared a cab back to all of our houses. Jess was dropped off first, then Sara, then me. It was an awesome day, and when I figure out how to get pics from my camera to my laptop (its not working, idk why) I'll edit this post and put em up.

This weekend MSJ are going to Fez for two days!!

More to come later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb