The Capital! Civilization!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
April 24th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mohammed Ave,Mohammed Ave,Mohammed Ave,

All cities' main road is called this name. It's the family name of the king here I think...Pretty useful actually. Prevented me from getting lost! haa
So, last night did my laundry, then slacked off and eventually fell asleep. Woke up in the middle of the night, then slept again till 7! haaa 10 hours of sleep.... not bad except a mosquito was around...><

Had a nice basic breakfast at the hostel. Then a Spanish/Argentina man came talking to me...we ended up travelling to Rabat together for the daytrip! This guy...I get so jealous coz he only works for about 6 months, then he gets this money from the government and then he travels for the other 6!!!!!WTF! I want his job!!!!!

So we took the train to Rabat. Wow....Morocco has nice trains!! Leather seats .. and the train system is very systemized as well. Very impressive ne! Anyways, it was an hour ride and the guy just kept showing off.....haaaa... it was fun tho.

So, Rabat, the capital....so nice!!!! Although Casablanca is more famous, but I must say Rabat is 10x better!!! Modern with a traditional taste. Civilized people so they wont bother tourist. I get stares but noone yelling to me. Not that coz I was walking with someone, but even at times when I scrolled alone....it felt great. I finally
MedinaMedinaMedina

Rabat has the nicest, or I should say, newest and cleanest Medina in Morocco!! And the covers keeps it coool. Very nice and effective!!
get to go into some stores and food stalls to see and eat without the pushy hard selling!! People were friendly and there were tons of police and army people around! haaa...felt very safe ne!
The city wasnt so big...we walked to the medina, around the local markets, to the seaside where we came across a huge nice cemetery! Then to the Kasbah walls....didnt visit the tower coz it was far and the guy had a sore knee.....On my way, went to the post office to mail a few postcards......OMG! so freakin expensive!!! The Dirahms is about the same to Euros as the HKD ma....so should be around the HKD price la....Darn! One postcard cost 15Dh to send!!!!!!!! argh...

Then we took the train back to Casablanca. Was gonna try this Hammam, a turkish bath and massage place across from the hostel. It was on the Lonely Planet ma..... but stepped in.....so many flies at the doooor.....scary doorway.....suen ba.....haaaaa

Guess I call that a day again... still waiting for mu laundry to dry....hope they dry by tonight!! argh.....

Tomorrow is Fez! The World Heritage UNIECO or sth preserved city...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Moroccan Whiskey!Moroccan Whiskey!
Moroccan Whiskey!

This tea+sugar+mint leaves is the national drink of Morocco. If its not too sweet, then its actually pretty refreshing! Tho I did hesitate when I first tried it.^^"
Daytrip companion!Daytrip companion!
Daytrip companion!

Javi from Spain/Argentina. Went on a daytrip to Rabat with him and it was pretty interesting!


Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb