The rip off in Merzouga Part 3 of 3 - Merzouga leaves a bad taste !!!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Merzouga
December 5th 2007
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early in the morning for the sunrise. Was disappointed with the view of the sun rise guess I was expecting something different again, all what I saw was the sun rising from a dune and then saw the sun rising from another dune it was really useless. I think what’s important is to see the sun rise from the horizon and thats not what I saw.

I kept walking up a dune and noticed there were 3 more bases in the adjoining valleys so I wasn’t quite alone in the area. We didn't have breakfast and we started to move to see the other villages. It was quite painful to be on the back of a camel but I couldn't be asked to walk. By this time I was a little tired of the desert and wished I could stop the tour here and go back to the hotel. While going on the camel further on, I noticed my shoe marks that I kept while we got there yesterday. I was pretty sure it was mine and also I remembered yesterday the sunset in the direction of the hotel and in the morning we started going in the direction opposite to sun rise. I was like perhaps that’s the route he is taking.

After about an hour I can still trace my foot marks. Going further on I started seeing hotel Tomboctou which is next to the one I was staying. I was from one point of view relieved that we were going back to the hotel and from another pissed off as this was not what was promised. I knew there was some problem and promising myself not to loose my temper I went back to the hotel.

Once we got to the hotel, I asked the people in the hotel what’s the story. By this time Hassan and the bosses son were not to be scene. Then they bring me this account and tell me I have to pay so much. In the account they had costed the camel trip at Dhm250. I was like ok thats good and I said ok the total I have to pay is the total you have here minus 350 which I have given hassan. At this point they tell me Hassan has vanished and I asked how about the bosses son and they say he is no bosses son but just a guide who had come with the Swedish guy. Apparently the owners were the guy who was hanging with the Swiss lady and the other guy who was always behind the hole in the wall kind of place. I said I have already paid but then all this confusion. So Hassan and the supposed owners son had ripped me off. So I agreed to pay for the CD I bought and just the camel ride and didn't pay for the room and food I had.


First time I have been ripped off, guess there is always a first and lesson to be learnt is make sure who owns the place before doing any deals. Afterwards I took a shower and went to Rissani. The trip to Rissani was free. From Rissani I took a grand taxi to Erachidia and then on to Azrou. On my way I was thinking maybe the entire thing was a setup but now its too late and no point thinking about it.

On my way I can’t deny I did keep thinking about what happened and tried to cost what I had totally lost, but then there is no point. What’s lost is lost.

I got to Azrou and then went to Ifran to meet Salma and her friend Leila. We had dinner at a pizza place and then I headed back to Azrou.

I had missed the last grand taxi to Azrou hence had to take one by myself and pay the fare of six people in order to get back to Azrou. That cost Dhm45 as they charge Dhm7.5 per passenger. The people call the concept of the grand taxi as a “collective” taxi. Essentially a taxi with 6 people in it.

Got back to Azrou and went to an internet cafe and thereafter went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb