Marrakech


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz
February 14th 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Casa was scary! There were no women anywhere! Strange. Our taxi driver then brought us to an amazing restaurant, We all tried tagine (with vegtables) and coucous (Maury did and got an amazinggg couscous sauce!) We ate about 5 baskets of bread, salads, and ended with Moroccan tea! We then went home and to bed. In the morning we tried Moroccan breakfast, served by the hostel. Bread, jelly, butter, fresh orange juice, and café. Simple yet amazing. Then we trekked off through the ghetto of Casa to the second largest mosque in the world. So beautiful, and very modern I believe it was built in the early 1900’s. It was right next to the ocean, breathtaking. We couldn’t take the tour (it’s the only one in the world where non-Muslims are allowed in) because we needed to take our train to Marrakech in the afternoon.

Marrakech;
When I first arrived here I was expecting a more modern European type of country, but was greeted with a cultural difference in a way that reminds me of Thailand. Arabic is CRAZY. Its was everyone speaks here. I feel like I am in the 1800s with the way people dress and wear headscarves. Its almost like I am in Disneyland and its all an act except its actually real like! So stimulating. There is prayer time 5 times a day and you can hear it from EVERYWHERE because there are speakers in people’s homes projecting it through the roofs. Walking through the markets brings me right back to Thailand. Strange smells (like sewers sometimes…) fresh cut meats, I mean you can see the live chickens in the shops still! I don’t like to see my food alive…
Everyone is bugging us to come in their shops and buy way overpriced things we have to bargain until we get a headache! I feel bad for everyone and wish I could buy things from all but I can’t help the entire world I guess. I get a pit in my stomach just thinking about it…



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb