Marrakech


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Inside the SoukInside the SoukInside the Souk

It was like going back to Medieval times. A real maze with something interesting round every corner.
Geo: 31.8857, -7.55943

Disappearing off to Morrocco was one of my ideas on impulse and definitely a very good one! I was studying for a term in Lille, France at the time. It was one of the many 'jours feries' and I thought why not!! I wasn't particuarly popular with the uni but a pot of pure saffron soon remedied that!

I am prone to getting lost, so putting myself on my own in the maze of a Marrakech souk was a recipe for disaster. I definitely regretted my impulsive nature as I wandered around, completely and utterly lost, far too hot and burdened by my huge rucksack. However, as always it all worked out just wonderfully. I bumped into Hicham, who offered me a cup of coffee and for some reason I accepted, perfectly aware that lone female travellers should not do so but so near to passing out from heat exhaustion not really caring. Hicham turned out to be wonderful and the next day I followed him to Amizmiz, a Berber village up in the mountains. It was paradise. Marrakech is fascinating. It's really like being in 'Aladdin.' Stepping back into medieval times. As you wander through the souks with
Waterfall in The Atlas MountainsWaterfall in The Atlas MountainsWaterfall in The Atlas Mountains

Just an hour from Marrakech
their red walls you bump into women all covered in black, snake charmers, witch doctors, carpet sellers, storks sitting in their nests, stray cats, cute little kids running around and donkies pulling carts of fresh mint. the souk is full of activity, colour and smells that send all your senses into a frenzy. However, I wanted to relax and Marrakech is not the place for that! It doesn't take long to reach some true natural beauty from Marrakech, squeezed into a long distance taxi through the dusty and yellow landscape for about 3 hrs. Par exemple the Ouzoud cascades are a wonderful and refreshing oasis.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb